
 
 

STATE OF WASHINGTON 

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND 
INDUSTRIES 

Factory Assembled Structures 
PO Box 44430 •Olympia, Washington 98504-4430 

 
 

July 25, 2019 

Dear Interested Builder, 
 

"Tiny Homes" are popular, permanent residences  no  larger than 400  square feet  and  are 

often built somewhere other than where they will be used. This Washington State  Department  

of Labor & Industries (L&I) packet provides you with what you need to know before building. 

This packet includes the following: 
 

• Review of requirements including a list of state laws, rules, and building codes; 
• Whether you need to go to L&I or your local building official for approvals; 
• L&I plan application and checklist, and; 
• L&I inspection request application. 

Please be aware designing and building a Tiny Home is very detailed work.If you are 

unfamiliar with building codes or construction, we urge you to see a licensed architect or 

engineer, or a registered building contractor before starting any work. 

L&I staff cannot advise or help with the design and construction of your Tiny Home. We can, 

however , answer questions about our requirements. Feel free to contact us at 

FAS1@Lni.wa.gov , or 360-902-5218. Visit our Tiny Homes website. 

If you determine that you need L&I approval of your tiny home, the total cost for reviewing the 

plans and inspecting the home will be about $1,500. Even with L&I approval , local building 

permits are still required at an additional cost. 

We look forward to working with you as you go through the process to build your Tiny Home. 
 

Sincerely, Craig Sedlacek, manager 

Factory Assembled Structures Program 

Washington State Department of Labor & Industries 

mailto:FAS1@lni.wa.gov
https://lni.wa.gov/licensing-permits/manufacturedmobile-homes-other-mobile-structures/tiny-homes


What you need to know about building a Tiny Home or a Tiny Home With 
Wheels 

If you are building a tiny home or a tiny home with wheels, you may need to have it inspected and 
approved by the Factory Assembled Structures (FAS) program at the Department of Labor & Industries 
(LNI). 

What it is: 

A tiny home/tiny home with wheels is a dwelling no larger than 400 square feet. The 
home must be built to the Washington State Building Code. 

What it is not: 

Recreational vehicles (RVs), Park Model Recreational Vehicles (PMRV’s), and 
Manufactured Homes (MH’s) are not a Tiny Home/Tiny Home with wheels as defined in 
Washington State. Any other structure not built to the Washington State Building Code 
is not a Tiny Home. 

What do I need to do? 

 IF you are building a tiny home on the site where it will be occupied and used, then you 
do not need to read any further, contact your local building department. You may also 
need an L&I electrical inspection. 

• IF you are building a tiny home somewhere OTHER than where it will be occupied, then 
keep reading, the rest of this document is important to you. The FAS program inspects 
all homes constructed off site. We will treat your “off site location” as the “factory” for 
the factory built housing unit. 

Key Steps ‐ Plan Review, Inspections, Insignia and Delivery/Installation 

You will need to submit appropriate fees and have your plans approved by us before we can inspect any 
of your work. The fees for inspections are based on time and travel costs. The cost for L&I approval of 
tiny homes will be around $1500 if the plans and inspections pass first time. There are additional 
charges for re‐inspections and resubmittal of plans. You do not need to purchase a specific L&I permit 
for your off‐site tiny home, we will automatically issue a permit for the factory portion before we start 
inspecting your home. 

Please consider your level of knowledge, skills, and abilities pertaining to the various aspects of building 
a tiny home. All construction work must meet the requirements of the applicable codes. You will need 
to purchase or have access to these codes and to any amendments or changes that Washington State 
Building Code Council has made to them. 

 

If you are unfamiliar with construction, electrical wiring, plumbing, mechanical work or with designing 
and preparing plans for your home, you will need to engage the help of professionals who are. 
Depending on your knowledge, skills, and the design complexity of the structure, this might be 
engineers, architects, plumbers, electricians and contractors. For legal reasons, L&I staff cannot advise 

https://apps.des.wa.gov/sbcc/Page.aspx?nid=14
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=296-150R
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=296-150P
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=296-150M-0306
https://apps.des.wa.gov/sbcc/Page.aspx?nid=14
https://www.wabo.org/find-your-bo
https://lni.wa.gov/licensing-permits/electrical/electrical-permits-fees-and-inspections/
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=296-150F-3000
https://apps.des.wa.gov/sbcc/Page.aspx?nid=14
https://apps.des.wa.gov/sbcc/Page.aspx?nid=14
https://apps.des.wa.gov/sbcc/Page.aspx?nid=14


you on or help you with the design and construction of your tiny home. Please refer all questions about 
how to perform various aspects of designing and constructing a tiny home to your hired professionals. 

Plan Review 

Your tiny home must meet the requirements of the International Residential Code, the Washington State 
Energy Code, the Uniform Plumbing Code and the National Electrical Code. These codes apply 
statewide and often there are changes or amendments made to them. Please see the Washington 
State Building Code Council web site for information on the current statewide building codes and 
amendments. Information on the current National Electrical Code is on the L&I Electrical Program 
website. 

The International Residential Code (IRC) is a “prescriptive” building code, meaning it provides a way to 
build a house without having to engineer it. To utilize the prescriptive path, you will need the 
knowledge, skills, and ability to design your building to the code requirements. With the applicable 
prescriptive construction details clearly identified on your plans ‐ referencing the specific code sections, 
tables you are using, all required design elements (wall bracing, headers, roof framing 
components/methods, etc.) you may not need to have an engineer or architect stamp your plans. 

L&I staff cannot “consult” on building design and will not “correct” items during the L&I review process. 
Please refer all questions about how to perform various aspects of designing and constructing a tiny 
home to your hired professionals. 

Any parts of your tiny home not built to the prescriptive IRC require engineering. For example, a Tiny 
Home or Tiny Home with Wheels, not designed for attachment to a continuous foundation (see all IRC 
requirements, especially foundations, and wall bracing) will require stamping by a licensed design 
professional. Here are some examples drawings or documents that require stamping by a Washington 
licensed Professional Engineer and/or Architect 

 All drawings prepared by or under the direction of a professional engineer or architect.
• All structural drawings not meeting the “prescriptive” construction requirements of the

International Residential Code. This would include the permanent “chassis” or transportation
frame for tiny home with wheels.

 All structural calculations.
 All Truss drawings

You can draft your plans by hand or on a computer. The drawings must be neat, legible, and drawn to 
a recognized architectural “scale”. The minimum scale is ¼” per foot. 

Upon receipt of your plans, they are assigned a plan number. We review plans on a first come, first 
served basis. Normally it will be several weeks before we can start the actual review. We will notify you 
of the status after the review. If we need anything else, or the drawings require correction, we will email 
you a written list so you will know what is required for resubmittal. Once approved we will send you 
a set of plans with our approval stamp on it. We will also send a set of the approved plans to the local 
building department. 

https://apps.des.wa.gov/sbcc/page.aspx?nid=4
https://apps.des.wa.gov/sbcc/page.aspx?nid=4
https://lni.wa.gov/licensing-permits/electrical/electrical-permits-fees-and-inspections/
https://lni.wa.gov/licensing-permits/electrical/electrical-permits-fees-and-inspections/


Inspections: 

Once you have received your approved plan from us, you can have your tiny home inspected. You need 
to have the approved plan available for the inspector to use. 

The inspector must inspect all parts of the home before you cover any construction. Covered 
construction, which has not been inspected and approved, must be opened up for inspection, so please 
do not proceed with work until the inspector has given you approval to do so. 

 
 

To request an inspection for your home, complete either the “in state inspection request” form or the 
“out of state inspection request” form and send it to us using the instructions at the bottom of the form. 

The inspector will invoice you for the inspection trip. If you request an inspection and you are not ready, 
you will still be charged for the trip. See WAC 296‐150F‐3000 for a list of inspection fees. The inspection 
fee will include the time for travel and inspection and for mileage. Additionally for out of state 
inspections the invoice will include travel expenses such as airfare, car rental, per diem, lodging etc. 
Most inspection trips within Washington State are about $250 each. Payment if due upon receipt. 
Payment can be on line by credit card or by mailing a copy of the invoice along with your check or 
money order. 

The “required tiny home inspections” document lists all of the inspections that might be required for 
your home. You are responsible for knowing which inspections you need and for being sure that you 
request inspections in a timely manner. Some inspections on this list might not apply and many times 
several inspections can be done on the same trip. For most tiny homes, the inspector will need to make 
three inspection trips. 

• The first inspection trip will be for the “floor” and will include the floor framing and insulation 
and any wiring or piping located there. It will also include the chassis (for units with wheels). 

• The second inspection trip is a “cover” inspection and includes the framing in the walls and roof, 
and the insulation, wiring and plumbing in those locations. 

• The third inspection trip will be a “final” inspection when the tiny home is complete and ready 
to ship to site. 

At the end of each inspection, the inspector will either approve the construction, or provide you with a 
report of what must be corrected. For legal reasons, L&I staff cannot advise you on, or help you with, 
the construction of your tiny home. Please refer all questions about how to perform various aspects of 
designing and constructing a tiny home to your hired professionals. 

Once all corrections have been made and the home passes the final FAS factory inspection, the FAS 
insignia of approval (gold seal) is applied to the home. 

The local building inspector, plumbing inspector and electrical inspector are responsible for all work 
done on site, including installation of the home on its foundation. The FAS program does not inspect 
work on site except when you make changes to the factory‐approved units prior to issuance of the 
certificate of occupancy by the local building official. 

https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=296-150F-3000


Insignia and Delivery/Installation: 

Once we have approved the construction at your factory location, the inspector will put an “insignia” of 
approval on your home. The local building department will look for the insignia to verify LNI inspections. 
You will need to apply for the insignia, and pay the applicable fees, prior to requesting the final 
inspection. It can take a number of weeks to process an insignia application, so plan accordingly. It is 
strongly recommended that you submit the application, and fees, with the plan approval request. 

You will need all the applicable permits from the local building department (where the home will be 
located), before you can ship it to site. 

The local building department is responsible for the following: 

 Approving the foundation of the tiny home, 
 Making sure it meets zoning regulations, 
 The actual installation and completion of the tiny home on your property, 
 Any other local requirements of the site you intend to locate the home on. 

You will also need a permit from the LNI electrical program or your city electrical program to connect 
your tiny home to power. 

A word of caution; FAS does not review the shipping requirements for your home. You are responsible 
for safe and legal transport over the roads and highways. This includes both size and weight restrictions 
and the requirements that all loads must be secure. Your home must be structurally sound so it will not 
collapse, fall off the chassis or fail during transport. Please consult the Washington State Patrol, and 
Department of Transportation regarding the movement of your home on Washington roadways. 

Some Important notes about licensing requirements: 

If you are going to build a tiny home there are several registration, and licensing, issues you need to be 
aware of and consider. 

 You may need to be a registered general contractor depending where you are going to work on a 
tiny home, and what duties you are performing. Please contact the LNI Contractors Program to 
find out the requirements for your situation. 

 All plumbing must be installed by a Washington State licensed residential or commercial 
plumber. 

 All electrical work must be performed by a Washington State licensed electrical contractor and 
licensed electricians. 

 There are exceptions for homeowners doing electrical and plumbing work on their own home. 
Please contact the plumbing program and the electrical program to determine the licensing 
requirements for your situation. 

Please see our tiny home web site for additional information, documents 
and forms. 

https://www.wabo.org/find-your-bo
https://lni.wa.gov/licensing-permits/electrical/electrical-permits-fees-and-inspections/
https://lni.wa.gov/licensing-permits/electrical/electrical-permits-fees-and-inspections/city-electrical-permits-inspections
http://www.wsp.wa.gov/driver/vehicle-equipment-requirements/
https://www.wsdot.wa.gov/commercialVehicle/Restrictions/
https://lni.wa.gov/licensing-permits/contractors/register-as-a-contractor/
https://lni.wa.gov/licensing-permits/plumbing/about-the-plumber-program
https://lni.wa.gov/licensing-permits/electrical/electrical-basics-for-home-business-owners/
https://lni.wa.gov/licensing-permits/manufacturedmobile-homes-other-mobile-structures/tiny-homes


Tiny Home Plan Checklist 

Tiny home construction plans must include the following drawings and information. Use this checklist 
to be sure your plans are complete. Incomplete plans will be returned without review. Include a copy 
of this checklist with your plans and applications. 

Please check the box next to each document to show that it is included, or it is not applicable (N/A). If 
you indicate N/A, you must include an explanation. For all of the drawing items you will need to fill in 
the primary sheet numbers where the information can be found. 

Documents and associated items: 

At the front of your package, include the following: 

o The combined Plan and Insignia fee of $745.10.
o Plan approval and Insignia request form. Completed form F623-039-000 ‐ see instructions. 
o Tiny Home Plan Checklist. A copy of this checklist with each item checked.
o Notification to Local Enforcement agency form. Completed form F623-013-000 ‐ see instructions. 

Next, provide three copies of each of these: 

o A completed set of Washington State Energy Code (WSEC) forms including; prescriptive or UA
component worksheets, glazing schedule, heat sizing worksheet, and a compliance certificate
(WSEC 2015 Certificate). WSEC forms and resources are at the
http://www.energy.wsu.edu/BuildingEfficiency/EnergyCode.aspx website. Note: WSU energy
offers a hotline number on their website if you need assistance with filling out the forms.

o Engineering calculations (if applicable). Engineering calculations are required for any structural
designs that do not meet the prescriptive construction requirements in the International
Residential Code (IRC). A Washington State registered professional engineer (PE) or a
Washington State registered Architect must stamp all engineering calculations. Calculation
pages must be numbered and the professional stamp must be on each page or it can be on the
title page and the index page.

o Truss drawings (if you are using trusses). Each type of roof or floor truss must include an
engineered drawing stamped by a Washington PE. The company who is building the trusses for
you provides truss drawings.

Plan sheets and associated items: 

Following the documents above, include three sets of drawings. Drawings must be collated into 
separate sets and be in order. You can draft your plans by hand or on a computer. The drawings must 
be neat, legible, and drawn to a recognized architectural “scale”. The minimum scale is ¼” per foot. 
Each page of the drawing set needs to have a drawing name, for example; “floor plan”, “details”, 
“plumbing”, etc. A drawing number and the date prepared or last revised is also required. 

 Cover drawing with:
o Information identifying the person or company submitting the plans with mailing

address, phone and email contact information. Also, include the factory address. The
“factory address” is the off‐site location where you will be building your tiny home.

http://www.energy.wsu.edu/BuildingEfficiency/EnergyCode.aspx
https://lni.wa.gov/forms-publications/F623-039-000.pdf
https://lni.wa.gov/forms-publications/F623-013-000.pdf


o A list of any design professionals, such as engineers and architects for the project. 
o A drawing index listing all pages in the drawing set by page title and drawing number. 

You can choose the drawing numbers as long as each page has a unique number. 
o A statement as to the codes used to design the plan. These must include the version 

year of each code. See the WA State Building Code Council for current information. 
o The design criteria used for the home, such as roof load, wind load, earthquake zone 

etc. Most building department publish the required minimum design criteria for their 
area on their web site. 

o List any prescriptive designs used to build the home. This would be specific code 
sections and table numbers from the IRC and would include but not limited to floor 
joists, wall studs, braced walls, wall headers, roof joists. An engineer or architect must 
stamp construction designs that are not prescriptive. 

o Other pertinent information, such as general notes, may be included. 
 Floor Plan of the main floor, and plan of any other floor levels (including lofts) in the home. The 

plan needs to show: 
o The locations of the exterior and interior walls. 
o Overall home dimensions and the interior dimensions for rooms and width of hallways. 
o Label each room showing its use (e.g. bedroom, living room etc…). 
o Locations and sizes of doors and windows. Identify which windows are for emergency 

escape (you can add “esc” to the window size callout). 
o Location of any safety glazing. 
o Cabinets, equipment, appliances and fixture locations. 
o Interior stairs, location, orientation and run. 
o Exterior porches, decks, stairs, awnings. 
o Locations of handrails and guardrails at stairs, porches, lofts etc… 

 Outside Elevations showing: 
o Siding and roofing materials (call out types or products) 
o Window and door configurations and swings 
o Roof eaves and overhangs. 
o Exterior porches, decks, awnings, and guardrails. 

• Cross Section(s) – a major transverse section through the home showing: 
o The main material components of the floor, wall and roof assemblies including: framing 

materials, sheathing type exterior coverings, type of insulation in each assembly, 
location/type of vapor retarder, interior finish, etc 

o Vertical and horizontal dimensions showing overall width and height and the finished 
floor to ceiling dimensions for all areas. Multiple sections may be required if there are 
areas of varying ceiling height, etc. 

o Roof eave and overhangs. 
o Locations of roof vents, baffles, etc. (including a calculation of the venting per square 

foot. 
o Foundation or chassis support locations under the floor of the home. 
o Cross sections should be drawn at 1/2” scale or larger. 

 Framing Plans (as applicable). 

https://apps.des.wa.gov/sbcc/page.aspx?nid=4


o Types, locations and lengths of prescriptive braced walls (see IRC 602.10) or engineered 
shear‐walls (requires plan to be stamped by the engineer or architect). 

o Connection details for all brace walls to upper framing (roof/ceiling), and to the floor 
framing. 

o If you are using trusses in a roof or floor, then provide a truss plan (framing drawing) 
showing the location of each type of truss in the assembly. These may be part of the 
engineered truss drawings from the truss manufacturer. 

o Provide a plan view drawing for roof and floor framing, and wall framing elevations to 
help explain how you are building your home. These drawings may not be required if 
your framing is “prescriptive”. Framing drawings must show the size and material grade 
of each type of joist, stud and rafter, and identify the same information for other major 
members such as beams, rims, headers and plates. 

 Construction/Section Details (as needed). 
o Provide section details to help explain how you are building your home, and comply 

with the applicable code sections. A few examples of typical section details include; 
how a roof is connected to walls, walls to the floor system/foundation, flashing at 
door/window heads and deck ledgers, etc. They are also used to show other specially 
built portions of the home in a close up “detail” that explains how this part of a home is 
to be assembled. Section details are normally drawn at ¾” scale or larger. 

 Stair Details (if applicable). 
o If the home has an interior stair, provide a section drawing through the long dimension 

showing the rise and run overall and of the steps along with any landing dimensions. 
o Indicate guard, and handrail, locations either on a “stair plan” or on the main floor plan. 

• Foundation ‐ Note: L&I only reviews the foundation plan to be sure it is reasonably suitable for 
the general home design. The local building department where your home will be installed must 
approve your foundation plans. 

o Foundation wall locations with dimensions. 
o Pier and blocking locations with spacing dimensions. 
o Point load locations corresponding with the framing plans 
o Hold down/strap connection points (if applicable) corresponding to framing 

(brace/shear wall) plans. 
o Tie‐down or special connection locations. 

• Chassis (for Tiny Homes with Wheels) this drawing(s) will require an engineer’s stamp and 
supporting calculations. 

o All frame components such as steel beams, axles, cross‐members, outriggers headboard 
and towing hitch. 

o Welding callouts showing how each of the chassis components is welded together. The 
welding callouts need to show the location, type and length of each weld. 

o Additional documents showing welding procedures, welder certification and welding 
inspector certifications. 

o A detail or details showing how the tiny home is connected to the chassis. 
o A detail or details showing how the chassis is connected to the foundation system. 

 Electrical Plan Drawing or layout of the home showing the locations of: 
o Appliances. 



o Electrical equipment such as the electrical panel. 
o Heaters and water heaters. 
o Smoke alarms. 
o Carbon monoxide detectors. 
o Receptacles, lights and switches. Indicate the proper type for all damp/wet/outdoor 

locations. NOTE: label all devices with a circuit number matching a circuit in the panel. 
o Show the type and location of any equipment disconnects for mini split heaters, etc. 
o The electrical plan needs to indicate the “wiring method” used in the home. Chapter 3 

of the National Electrical Code describes wiring methods. 
 Electrical panel layout showing: 

o The circuits in the panel including the size of the circuit breakers and the size of the 
wiring for each circuit. Please number the circuits for verification of devices served. 

o Label circuit breakers that are AFCI or GFCI rated. 
o The location and size of the main breaker or other main disconnecting means. 

• A “one line service/feeder” diagram detailing how power is connected to the home showing: 
o The size and type of conduits in to the home. 
o The size and type of conductors. 
o The location of the main service disconnecting means. 

 An electrical load calculations for the tiny home showing: 
o The full electrical load on the service or feeder in KVA. 

 Potable water line drawing in plan or isometric view. Indicate: 
o The type of piping material. 
o All fixture locations. 
o Pipe size and locations along with changes in direction. 
o Indicate where the water service and the water heater connect along with shut off 

valves required in these locations. 
o Indicate the size, and type, of the water heater 
o Note seismic strapping for tank‐type water heaters. 
o The pressure relief valve (PRV) with the overflow pipe discharging to the exterior of the 

home. 
o A tee must be installed for an expansion tank. 

 Drain/waste/vent (DWV) piping system shown in isometric view. Indicate: 
o Type of pipe material. 
o The sewer connection location 
o All fixture locations. 
o All pipe runs with the pipe size, changes in direction. 
o Locations of clean‐outs, traps and vents through the roof. 

 Gas System. In plan or isometric view. Indicate: 
o List the type (propane or natural gas), and pressure of the gas piping system. 
o The type of pipe material. 
o Locations, length and size of each part of the gas piping system along with changes in 

direction. 
o Label the points where gas appliances connect to the system. 
o List the BTU input rating of each appliance connected to the system. 



Chapter 296-150F WAC: Page 10 of 30 
o 
o Indicate where the gas service connects to the system. 
o Indicate where all shut off valves are located where required at the service and at each 

appliance. 
• Mechanical drawing showing 

o The location of all equipment such as furnaces, heaters, heat pumps, mini‐split HVAC system 
components. List the make, model and size of equipment. 

o Locations, type and size of ductwork and registers that are part of a forced air heating system. 
o Locations, make, model of spot ventilation fans, and the whole house fan. Show the method 

of control for the whole house fan –intermittent, or continuous. 
o Information on special equipment required for energy credits 
o Show termination locations of all exhausts and condensate drains. 

 
 

Mail your plans to the L&I FAS program. Our mailing address is at the top left corner of the application form. 
When plans are received, they are logged in and assigned a plan number. Normally it will be several weeks 
before the review of the plans starts. Once your plans are reviewed we will send you an approved plan set or we 
will notify you via email of what you need to do so the plans can be approved. 



 

Tiny Home Plan Approval & Insignia 
Request Form 

Factory Assembled Structures 
PO Box 44430 
Olympia WA 98504-4430 

If you are unfamiliar with building codes or construction, we urge 
you to see a licensed architect, engineer, or a registered building 
contractor before submitting plans or starting any work. 

 

Mail this complete form, fees, 3 copies of your plans and other documents to the address listed 
above. For instructions on completing this form, see next page. Also, see the Tiny Homes Plan 
Checklist for help. We process plans based on the date received. We will notify you once the plans 
have been reviewed. 

Applicant/Contact Information: 
 

Company/Applicant Name 

Address 

City State Zip Code 

Phone Number Email Address 

 
Contact Person Name (If different than above) 

Phone Number Email Address 

Tiny Home Information: 
 

Area of Home (sq. feet) Roof Load (PSF Snow) Wind Speed/Exposure Seismic Category 

Electrical Service (Amps) IRC Prescriptive Design 
Yes No 

Engineering Included 
Yes No 

Climate Zone 
  4C  5B 

Type of Heating System No. of Plumbing Fixtures 

Serial/ID Number 

Note: This form is for a single module home only. For a multi-section home, contact L&I for assistance. 
 

Fees: 
 

New Plan Design Fee $422.40 
Insignia Fee $322.70 (includes the NLEA fee) 
Addendum or Resubmittal $146.00 
Total Fee Enclosed:   $  

 
For Department Use Only 

Application ID Transaction ID Fee Ledger Sheet Number 

Plan Approval Number Date Approved Expiration Date 

 
 

F623-039-000 Tiny Home Plan Approval & Insignia Request 08-2019 RESET 



Instruction to complete the Tiny Home Plan Approval & Insignia Request Form 
 

If you are sending your plans via FedEx, 
UPS, or other overnight service, please use our 
street address: 

Department of Labor & Industries 
Factory Assembled Structures 
7273 Linderson Way S.W. 
Tumwater WA 98501-5414 

Note: If you are unfamiliar with building codes or construction, we urge you to see a licensed architect, 
engineer, or a registered building contractor before submitting plans or starting any work. 

Applicant/Contact Information 
Include your or your company’s name and contact information such as mailing address, phone number, and 
email address. If the contact person information differs from the applicant, please provide it also. 

Tiny Home Information 
1. Area of Home: This is the size of the home. Measure the area to the outside of the walls at the floor 

level. It must be no larger than 400 square feet. 

2. Roof Load: This the snow load capacity of the roof in pounds per square foot (PSF). 

3. Wind Speed/Exposure: This covers two areas – The strength of the home against wind (speed is 
measure in miles per hour); and the setting or exposure of the home, whether in the city, open plains, 
or other location. 

4. Seismic Category: The answer should be a single letter, and may include a number, for example “D2.” 
This describes the level of earthquake resistance. 

5. Electrical Service (Amps): This describes the capacity of the home’s electrical connection to an 
electrical grid or power supply as measured in amperes (Amps). 

6. IRC Prescriptive Design: Answer “Yes” if the plans only use the prescriptive International Residential 
Code (IRC) requirements for tiny homes. For homes that are wholly or partially engineered, and for tiny 
homes with wheels, answer “No.” 

7. Engineering Included: Check “Yes”, if there is engineering for all or part of the home and a 
professional engineer (PE) stamped the plans. For tiny homes with wheels, the wheeled portion below 
floor must be engineered. Engineering may be required for other parts, depending on the design. 

8. Climate Zone: These are the two climate zones for Washington. Choose the one where you tiny home 
will be located. See the state Energy Code for further details. 

9. Type of Heating System: Please show the primary type. Example answers can include, “Gas,” 
“Electric,” “Split,” or similar. Note: a woodstove cannot be a primary source of heat. 

10. Number of Plumbing Fixtures: This is the number of fixtures, such as sinks and toilets in your tiny 
home. See the Plumbing Code for information on how to determine the number of fixtures. 

11. Serial/ID Number: This is your unique identifier for the planned tiny home. It can be a serial or 
identification (ID) number. 

Fees 
• If this is your initial application for your tiny home, please check the boxes “New Plan Design Fee” 

and “Insignia Fee” and include the total with your plans. 

• If this is a resubmittal of your plans, then only check the “Addendum or Resubmittal” box and include 
that fee with your plans. 

 
 
 

F623-039-000 Tiny Home Plan Approval & Insignia Request 08-2019 



Department of Labor and Industries 
Factory Assembled Structures 
PO Box 44430 
Olympia WA 98504-4430 

  
NOTIFICATION TO LOCAL ENFORCEMENT AGENCY 

 

www.wa.gov/lni/FAS/ 
(case sensitive) 

The Factory-Built unit identified below requires completion work at the 
site as specified. 

Date 

M 
Mfg 

Owner's name Mfgr's serial no. Dept insignia no. 

Installation address Type of construction Occupancy ETA at site 

City State ZIP+4 County Phone number 

 

 
DESCRIBE ITEMS REQUIRING COMPLETION WORK AT THE SITE 

BUILDING DEPARTMENT 
www.wabo.org/ 

INSERT NAME AND ADDRESS IN SHADED AREA 

ELECTRICAL DEPARTMENT 
www.wa.gov/lni/electrical/ 

INSERT NAME AND ADDRESS IN SHADED AREA 
To: To: 

  

  

  

  

  

  

  

  

  

  

  

  

  

  

  

  

Inspector's name (print/type) Phone: (8 am to 5 pm) Manufacturer's name (print/type) 

Office location Date Manufacturer's signature 

 
 

F623-013-000 notification to local enforcement agency 03-2009 

Installation site is in: City County 

Paid date Column Check Fee 

$ 

 

RESET 

http://www.wa.gov/lni/FAS/
http://www.wabo.org/
http://www.wa.gov/lni/electrical/


 

 
STATE OF WASHINGTON 

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRIES 
Field Services & Public Safety 
Factory Assembled Structures 

PO Box 44430 Olympia, Washington 98504-4430 
 

To: Tiny Home Builders 

From: Craig Sedlacek, FAS Program Manager 
 
 

Subject: Required Inspections 

WAC 296-150F-0500 When Is an inspection required? (1) Before we issue an insignia, each 
factory-built residential structure and tiny home must be inspected at the off-site location as many times 
as are required by the codes. (See WAC 296-150f-0600) 

 
NOTE: Approved design plans; specifications, engineering analysis and test results must be available 
during the inspections. 
Inspection may include but not be limited to the following codes: 

 
2015 International Building Code: section 110.3 
110.3.9 Special inspection. To be made as required by section 1704. (Welding inspections are required for 
steel chassis, steel framing and other steel construction) 

 
2015 International Residential Code: section R109 
R109.1 General. Construction for which a building permit is required shall not be covered or concealed 
without first obtaining the approval of the building official. 
R109.1.2 Plumbing, mechanical, gas and electrical rough-in. Rough inspection of plumbing, 
mechanical, gas and electrical systems shall be made prior to covering or concealment. 
R109.1.4 Frame inspection. To be made after the roof, all framing, fire blocking and bracing is in place 
and all pipes, chimneys and vents are complete and the rough electrical, plumbing, and heating wires, pipes 
and ducts are approved. 
R109.1.5 Other inspection. In addition to the listed inspections specified above, the building official may 
make or require other inspections of any construction work to ascertain compliance with the provision of 
this code and other laws which are enforced by the code enforcement agency. 
R109.1.6 Final inspection. To be made after the building is completed and ready for shipment. 

 
2015 Uniform Plumbing Code 
105 .1 General. Plumbing systems for which a permit is required by this code shall be inspected by the 
Authority Having Jurisdiction. No portion of any plumbing system shall be concealed until inspected and 
approved. Neither the Authority Having Jurisdiction nor the jurisdiction shall be liable for expense entailed 
in the removal or replacement of material required to permit inspection. When the installation of a 
plumbing system is complete, an additional and final inspection shall be made. Plumbing systems regulated 
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by this code shall not be connected to the water, the energy fuel supply, or the sewer system until uthorized 
by the Authority Having Jurisdiction. 

2015 Washington State Energy Code: section R104 
104.1 General. All construction or work for which a permit is required shall be subject to inspection by the 
building official and all such construction or work shall remain accessible and exposed for inspection 
purposes until approved by the building official. 
104.2 Approvals Required: No work shall be done on any part of the building or structure beyond the 
point indicated in each successive inspection without first obtaining the approval of the building official. 
104.2.1 Wall Insulation Inspection: To be made after all wall insulation and vapor retarder sheet or film 
materials are in place, but before any wall covering is placed. 
104.2.1 Final Inspection: The building shall have a final inspection. 

RCW 19.28.101 & 2017 National Electrical Code 
No electrical wiring or Equipment subject to this chapter may be concealed until the inspector making the 
inspection has approved it. If the electrical system exceeds 200 amps or single phase, the manufacturer 
must advise the department so that appropriate inspection personnel can be provided. 

WAC 296-150F-0510 How do I request an inspection? (1) You need to contact us, and we will let 
you know where your request for inspection should be submitted. Our address is noted in the definition of 
department. 
(2) We need to receive IN-STATE inspection request at least seven calendar days prior to the date that
you want the inspection.
(3) We need to receive OUT-OF-STATE inspection requests at least fourteen calendar days in WRITING
prior to the date that you want the inspection. With your request please submit a map and directions from
the closest commercial airport to your facility. Please include on your map and directions, your
manufacturers name, physical address, city, area code, phone number and contact person.

To request an out-of state inspection you need to contact: 
Physical Address: 

Mailing Address: 

Plan Review Supervisor 
Department of Labor and Industries 
7273 Linderson Way SW (MS: 4430) 
Tumwater, WA. 98501 

PO Box 44430 
Olympia, WA 98504-4430 

Phone: 1-800-705-1411 Option 3
Email: FAS1@lni.wa.gov 

NOTE: The inspector will apply an insignia(s) on the tiny home at the manufacturing location after the 
final inspection. 

mailto:Fas1@lni.wa.gov


STATE OF WASHINGTON 
DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRIES 

Factory Assembled Structures 
PO Box 44430 Olympia, WA. 98506-4430 

WAC 296-150F-0510 How do I request an inspection? (1) You must contact us, and 
we will let you know where your request for inspection should be submitted. Our address 
is noted in the definition of department. 
We must receive in-state inspection requests at least seven calendar days 
prior to the date that you want the inspection. 
PLEASE NOTE THE SEVEN CALENDAR DAYS CAN BE WAIVED 

1. The Manufacturer Number (M-) where the structure is being built:

2. Date of Inspection(s) at the Manufacturing Plant: 

3. Time: AM: or PM: 

4. The type of Inspection(s) needed. Please check the appropriate inspection(s):

Floor Cover:  Frame Cover:   

Plumbing Cover: Mechanical Cover:   

Electrical Cover: Energy Code Cover: 

Electrical Final:  Final Inspection:   

5. Is this the first inspection for this unit? YES / NO

6. The Date the Insignia(s) and NLEA was applied for, if final inspection:

7. The Manufacturers Building Serial Number:

8. The State Plan Approval Number:

9. Contact name and phone number of appropriate plant personnel

10. All the above information to be sent to: FAS1@lni.wa.gov  

mailto:ROEM235@lni.wa.gov


STATE OF WASHINGTON 
DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRIES 

Factory Assembled Structures 
PO Box 44430 Olympia, WA. 98506-4430 

WAC 296-150F-0510 How do I request an inspection? (1) You must contact us, and 
we will let you know where your request for inspection should be submitted. Our address 
is noted in the definition of department. 
We must receive out-of-state inspection requests at least fourteen calendar days 
prior to the date that you want the inspection. 
PLEASE NOTE THE FOURTEEN CALENDAR DAYS CAN BE WAIVED 

1. The Manufacturer Number (M-) where the structure is being built:

2. Date of Inspection(s) at the Manufacturing Plant:

3. The type of Inspection(s) needed. Please check the appropriate 
inspection(s): 

Floor Cover:  Frame Cover:   

Plumbing Cover: Mechanical Cover:   

Electrical Cover: Energy Code Cover: 

Electrical Final:  Final Inspection:   

4. Is this the first inspection for this unit? YES / NO

5. The Date the Insignia(s) and NLEA was applied for, if final inspection:

6. The Manufacturers Building Serial Number:

7. The State Plan Approval Number:

8. Map and or Direction to the Manufacturing Plant Location where the Audit is to be done.

9. Contact name and phone number of appropriate plant personnel

10. All the above information to be sent to FAS1@lni.wa.gov
 

mailto:ROEM235@lni.wa.gov
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STATE OF WASHINGTON 

TINY HOME REGULATIONS 

Effective:  July 28, 2019 to June 30, 2020 
(Except as Noted) 

Tiny Homes that are built off site are a type of factory built housing, and when built 
to be sited in Washington State are inspected by the Department of Labor and 
Industries, Field Services and Public Safety Division and are to be constructed to 
comply with the codes listed below. Copies of the factory built structures WAC rules 
are enclosed. Washington State amendments and Washington State stand alone codes 
are available as shown in brackets ( ) . 

1. Rules for Factory Built Structures

Chapter 296-150F WAC (Dated 12-4-2018) (Enclosed) 
(Note: As new rules become effective they will be published on 
our website. 

2. International and Uniform Codes as Adopted per the Washington State Building
Code RCW 19.27

A. 2015 International Residential Code (IRC) and Washington (WABO)
State amendments to the 2015 International
Residential Code adopted by Chapter WAC 51-51

B. Appendix Q to the 2015 International Residential Code (WABO) 
(IRC) when adopted by Chapter WAC 51-51

C. 2015 International Building Code (IBC) and Washington (WABO) 
State amendments to the 2015 International
Building Code adopted by Chapter WAC 51-50

D. 2015 Uniform Plumbing Code (UPC) and Washington (WABO) 
State amendments to the 2015 Uniform Plumbing Code
as adopted by Chapter WAC 51-56

3. Washington State stand alone codes as adopted under the Washington State
Building Code RCW 19.27 and 19.27A

A. Washington State Energy Code, 2015 Edition as (WABO) 
adopted by Chapter 51-11R WAC

https://lni.wa.gov/rulemaking-activity/


Tiny Home_Regulations_REV 

 

 

4. Washington State Electrical Laws, Rules and Regulations: 
 

A. RCW 19.28; WAC 296-46B (current edition) (L&I Elect.) 
 

B. 2017 National Electrical Code (NEC) as adopted by 
RCW 19.28 and WAC 296-46B 

 
5. Other state agency rules that may be applicable: 

(NOTE: List may not be all inclusive) 
 

A. Primary and Secondary Schools – WAC 246-366 (HEALTH) 
B. Boarding Home Licensing Rules WAC 388-78A (DSHS) 

 

6. Also enclosed for your use are: 
 

A. “Plan Approval Request” form and instructions for completing. 
B. “Application for Insignia” form and instructions for completing . 
C. “Notification to Local Enforcement Agency” form and instructions. 

 
Copies of Codes are available as follows: 

 
(WABO) The Washington Association of Building Officials 

P. O. Box 7310 
Olympia, WA 98507-7310 
Telephone: (360) 628-8669 
Web Site www.wabo.org 

 

(L&I Elect.) Department of Labor and Industries 
Field Services & Public Safety Division 
Electrical Section 
7273 Linderson Way SW ms: 4460 
Tumwater, WA. 98501 
Web Site Electrical Licensing 
P O Box 44460 (Mailing address) 
Olympia, WA 98504-4460 
Telephone: (360) 902-5244 

http://www.wabo.org/
https://lni.wa.gov/licensing-permits/electrical/electrical-basics-for-home-business-owners/
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Chapter Listing 
 
 

Chapter 296-150F WAC Last Update: 12/4/18 
 

FACTORY-BUILT HOUSING AND COMMERCIAL STRUCTURES 
 

WAC Sections 
 

296-150F-0010 Authority, purpose, and scope. 
296-150F-0020 What definitions apply to this chapter? 
296-150F-0030 How is this chapter enforced? 
296-150F-0040 Will you keep my manufacturing information confidential? 
296-150F-0050 Can you prohibit the installation of factory-built housing and commercial stru 
296-150F-0070 Do you have reciprocal agreements with other states to inspect factory-built 

commercial structures, and components? 
296-150F-0080 Do you allow a local enforcement agency to inspect factory-built housing, co 

and components at the manufacturing location? 
296-150F-0090 What are the requirements for certified plumbers and electricians? 
296-150F-0100 What happens if I disagree with your decision regarding my compliance with 
296-150F-0110 Do you have an advisory board to address factory-built housing and comme 
296-150F-0120 Where can I obtain technical assistance regarding factory-built housing and 
296-150F-0130 How do I register a complaint? 
296-150F-0140 Do you allow the use of alternate materials, alternate design and method of 

INSIGNIA 
296-150F-0200 Who must purchase factory-built housing and commercial structure insignia 
296-150F-0210 What are the insignia requirements? 
296-150F-0220 How do I obtain insignia information and the required forms? 
296-150F-0230 What are the insignia application requirements? 
296-150F-0250 How do I replace lost or damaged insignia? 

DESIGN PLAN 
296-150F-0300 When is design plan approval required? 
296-150F-0310 Who can approve design plans? 

DESIGN-PLAN APPROVAL BY THE DEPARTMENT 
296-150F-0320 What must I provide with my request for design-plan approval by the depart 
296-150F-0325 What are the requirements for temporary built structures? 
296-150F-0340 What must an engineering analysis for design plans include? 
296-150F-0350 What must the test procedures and results for design plans include? 
296-150F-0380 What happens if you approve my design plan? 
296-150F-0390 If my design plan is not approved, how much time do I have to submit a corr 
296-150F-0400 What happens after my design plan is approved? 
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296-150F-0410 When does my design plan expire? 
296-150F-0415 Who approves addendums to design plans approved by the department? 

DESIGN-PLAN APPROVAL BY A LICENSED PROFESSIONAL OR FIR 
296-150F-0420 Who can be authorized to approve design plans? 
296-150F-0430 What information must a professional or firm provide to be authorized to app 
296-150F-0440 How will I know whether I am authorized to approve design plans? 
296-150F-0450 How long is a licensed professional or firms authorization effective? 
296-150F-0460 What information must a manufacturer provide when a professional or firm d 

approval? 
296-150F-0470 What happens after we receive the professional or firm approved design pla 
296-150F-0480 Do you have a list of professionals or firms that are authorized to submit des 
296-150F-0490 Who approves addendums to design plans approved by a professional or fir 
296-150F-0495 Contractor deposit accounts. 

INSPECTIONS PRIOR TO ISSUANCE OF AN INSIGNIA 
296-150F-0500 When is an inspection required? 
296-150F-0510 How do I request an inspection? 
296-150F-0520 What happens if my factory-built house or commercial structure passes insp 
296-150F-0530 Am I charged if I request an inspection but I am not prepared? 
296-150F-0540 Who inspects factory-built housing and commercial structures for installation 
296-150F-0550 Do you notify the local enforcement agency after your final inspection of fact 

manufacturing location? 
USED FACTORY-BUILT STRUCTURES WITHOUT AN INSIGNIA 

296-150F-0580 Must I obtain an insignia for used factory-built structures? 
296-150F-0590 How do I obtain insignia for used factory-built structures? 

CODES FOR FACTORY-BUILT HOUSING, COMMERCIAL STRUCTURES, AND C 
296-150F-0600 What manufacturing codes apply to factory-built housing and commercial str 
296-150F-0605 May the required toilet facilities be located in an adjacent building? 
296-150F-0610 Do you require the exit doors to be one-half the diagonal distance apart if ea 

own exit door? 
296-150F-0620 Does the department require a water system expansion tank be installed? 
296-150F-0625 Are there any special requirements for portable school classrooms? 
296-150F-0630 When HVAC equipment is supplied with more than one CFM rating, which r 

MANUFACTURER'S NOTICE TO THE DEPARTMENT 
296-150F-0700 Must manufacturers of factory-built housing and commercial structures notif 

manufacture at more than one location? 
296-150F-0710 Must manufacturers of factory-built housing and commercial structures notif 

business name or address? 
296-150F-0720 Must manufacturers of factory-built housing and commercial structures notif 

business ownership? 
FACTORY-BUILT HOUSING AND COMMERCIAL STRUCTURE FEES 
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296-150F-3000 Factory-built housing and commercial structure fees. 
 

DISPOSITION OF SECTIONS FORMERLY CODIFIED IN THIS TITLE 
 

296-150 F-0615 May the electrical disconnect required for mechanical equipment be inside of 
equipment? [Statutory Authority: RCW 43.22.340 and 43.22.480 . WSR 99-1 
0615, filed 6/4/99, effective 7/5/99.] Repealed by WSR 05-01-102, filed 12/14 
Statutory Authority: Chapter 43.22 RCW and 2003 c 291. 

 
 

296-150F-0010 
Authority, purpose, and scope. 

(1) This chapter is authorized by RCW 43.22.420, 43.22.434 and 43.22.450 through 
43.22.490, covering the construction and approval of factory-built housing and commercial 
structures before occupancy. 

(2) This chapter applies to the approval: 
(a) Of factory-built structures used for residences or commercial purposes; and 
(b) After occupancy of a factory-built house or commercial structure, all inspections are 

done by the local enforcement agency. 
 

[Statutory Authority: RCW 43.22.340, [43.22.]355, [43.22.]360, [43.22.]432, [43.22.]440 and 
[43.22.]480. WSR 96-21-146, § 296-150F-0010, filed 10/23/96, effective 11/25/96.] 

 
 
 

296-150F-0020 
What definitions apply to this chapter? 

"Approved" is approved by the department of labor and industries. 
"Building site" is a tract, parcel, or subdivision of land on which a factory-built house 

or commercial structure will be installed. 
"Component" is a part or element of another system as defined by the International 

Building Code, section 202, and is: 
• Designed to be installed in a structure; 
• Manufactured as a unit; and 
• Designed for a particular function or group of functions. 
A component may be a service core or other assembly that is a factory assembled 

section of a building. It may include mechanical, electrical, plumbing, and related systems. It 
may be a complete kitchen, bathroom, or utility room. Service cores are referred to as "wet 
boxes," "mechanical cores," or "utility cores." 
Note: A roof truss is not considered a component. 

"Damaged in transit" is damage that effects the integrity of the structural design or 
damage to any other system referenced in the codes required by the State Building Code, or 
other applicable codes. 

"Department" is the department of labor and industries. The department may also be 
referred to as "we" or "us" in this chapter. Note: You may contact us at: Department of Labor 
and Industries, Specialty Compliance, P.O. Box 44440, Olympia, WA 98504-4440. 
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"Design plan" is a plan for the construction of factory-built housing, commercial 
structures, or components that includes floor plans, elevation drawings, specifications, 
engineering data, or test results necessary for a complete evaluation of the design. 

"Design option" is a design that a manufacturer may use as an option to its design 
plan. 

"Educational facility" is a building or portion of a building used primarily for 
educational purposes by six or more persons at one time for twelve hours per week or four 
hours in any one day. Educational occupancy includes: Schools (preschool through grade 
twelve), colleges, academies, universities, and trade schools. 

"Equipment" is all material, appliances, devices, fixtures, fittings, or accessories used 
in the manufacture, assembly, installation, or alteration of factory-built housing, commercial 
structures, and components. 

"Factory assembled structure (FAS) advisory board" is a board authorized to 
advise the director of the department regarding the issues and adoption of rules relating to 
factory-built housing, commercial structures and components. (See RCW 43.22.420.) 

"Health or personal care facilities" are buildings or parts of buildings that contain, 
but are not limited to, facilities that are required to be licensed by the department of social and 
health services or the department of health (e.g., hospitals, nursing homes, private alcoholism 
hospitals, private psychiatric hospitals, boarding homes, alcoholism treatment facilities, 
maternity homes, birth centers or childbirth centers, residential treatment facilities for 
psychiatrically impaired children and youths, and renal hemodialysis clinics) and medical, 
dental or chiropractic offices or clinics, outpatient or ambulatory surgical clinics, and such 
other health care occupancies where patients who may be unable to provide for their own 
needs and safety without the assistance of another person are treated. (Further defined in 
WAC 296-46B-900.) 

"Insignia" is a label that we attach to a structure to verify that a factory-built house or 
commercial structure meets the requirements of this chapter. It could also be a stamp or label 
attached to a component to verify that it meets the requirements of this chapter. 

"Install" is to erect or set in place a structure at a building site. It may also be the 
construction or assembly of a component as part of a factory-built house or commercial 
structure. 

"Institutional facility" is a building or portion of a building used primarily for detention 
and correctional occupancies where some degree of restraint or security is required for a time 
period of twenty-four or more hours. Such occupancies include, but are not restricted to: Penal 
institutions, reformatories, jails, detention centers, correctional centers, and residential- 
restrained care. 

"Listing agency" is an organization whose business is approving equipment, 
components, or installations for publication. 

"Local enforcement agency" is an agency of city or county government with power 
to enforce local regulations governing the installation of factory-built housing and commercial 
structures. 

"Manufacturing" is making, fabricating, forming, or assembling a factory-built house, 
commercial structure, or component. 

"Master design plan" is a design plan that expires when a new State Building Code 
has been adopted. 

"One-year design plan" is a design plan that expires one year after approval or when 
a new State Building Code has been adopted. 
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"Repair" is the replacement, addition, modification, or removal of any construction, 
equipment, system, or installation to correct damage in transit or during on-site installation 
before occupancy. 

"Temporary factory built structure" is a building not set on a permanent foundation, 
which is used for temporary occupancy such as an educational, commercial, or agricultural 
building. The building must meet the requirements of this chapter and the installation 
requirements. As required under RCW 43.22.480 all alterations to temporary factory built 
structures must be preapproved by the department. 

"Unit" is a factory-built house, commercial structure, or component. 
"Used structure" is a building as defined by section 202 of the International Building 

Code that has been given a certificate of occupancy by the local building department and has 
been occupied. 

 
[Statutory Authority: Chapter 43.22 RCW. WSR 12-15-061, § 296-150F-0020, filed 7/17/12, 
effective 9/1/12; WSR 07-05-063, § 296-150F-0020, filed 2/20/07, effective 4/1/07; WSR 05- 
23-002, § 296-150F-0020, filed 11/3/05, effective 12/4/05; WSR 98-14-078, § 296-150F-0020, 
filed 6/30/98, effective 7/31/98. Statutory Authority: RCW 43.22.340, [43.22.]355, [43.22.]360, 
[43.22.]432, [43.22.]440 and [43.22.]480. WSR 96-21-146, § 296-150F-0020, filed 10/23/96, 
effective 11/25/96.] 

 
 
 

296-150F-0030 
How is this chapter enforced? 

(1) To enforce this chapter, we or another governmental inspection agency will inspect 
each factory-built house and commercial structure that is sited in Washington. Inspections will 
be conducted during normal work hours or at other reasonable times. (See WAC 296-150F- 
0070.) 

(2) We will inspect each unit as required by the codes. (See WAC 296-150F-0500.) 
 

[Statutory Authority: RCW 43.22.340, [43.22.]355, [43.22.]360, [43.22.]432, [43.22.]440 and 
[43.22.]480. WSR 96-21-146, § 296-150F-0030, filed 10/23/96, effective 11/25/96.] 

 
 
 

296-150F-0040 
Will you keep my manufacturing information confidential? 

We will only release manufacturing information such as design plans, specifications, 
and test results according to the requirements of the Public Records Act (see RCW 42.17.310 
(1)(h)) unless we are ordered to do so by a court or otherwise required by law. 

 
[Statutory Authority: RCW 43.22.340 and 43.22.420. WSR 97-16-043, § 296-150F-0040, filed 
7/31/97, effective 12/1/97. Statutory Authority: RCW 43.22.340, [43.22.]355, [43.22.]360, 
[43.22.]432, [43.22.]440 and [43.22.]480. WSR 96-21-146, § 296-150F-0040, filed 10/23/96, 
effective 11/25/96.] 
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296-150F-0050 
Can you prohibit the installation of factory-built housing and commercial 
structures? 

(1) We may prohibit the installation of factory-built housing and commercial structures 
if they do not conform to the requirements of this chapter. (See RCW 43.22.465.) 

(2) If an inspection reveals that a factory-built home or commercial structure violates 
this chapter, we may obtain a temporary injunction enjoining the installation of any 
nonconforming structure. The injunction may be made permanent at the discretion of the 
court. 

 
[Statutory Authority: RCW 43.22.340 and 43.22.480. WSR 99-13-010, § 296-150F-0050, filed 
6/4/99, effective 7/5/99.] 

 
 
 

296-150F-0070 
Do you have reciprocal agreements with other states to inspect factory- 
built housing and commercial structures, and components? 

(1) We have entered into reciprocal agreements with states who have construction 
standards that are equal to or greater than our standards for factory-built housing and 
commercial structures. 

(2) When we have a reciprocal agreement with another state: 
(a) The reciprocal state inspects factory-built housing, commercial structures, and 

components manufactured in that state before shipment into Washington to ensure 
compliance with our laws. After inspection, the reciprocal state applies our insignia. 

(b) The department inspects factory-built housing, commercial structures, and 
components manufactured in Washington before shipment into the reciprocal state to ensure 
compliance with their laws. After inspection, we apply the insignia of the reciprocal state. 

(3) We have reciprocal agreements on file. 
 

[Statutory Authority: RCW 43.22.340, [43.22.]355, [43.22.]360, [43.22.]432, [43.22.]440 and 
[43.22.]480. WSR 96-21-146, § 296-150F-0070, filed 10/23/96, effective 11/25/96.] 

 
 
 

296-150F-0080 
Do you allow a local enforcement agency to inspect factory-built housing, 
commercial structures, and components at the manufacturing location? 

(1) A local enforcement agency (city or county), under contract with us, can inspect 
factory-built housing, commercial structures, and components. In some cases their contract 
may be limited to specific portions of an inspection at specified manufacturing locations. 
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(2) After approving a unit, the local enforcement agency will attach the insignia, which 
indicates the unit has passed inspection. 

 
[Statutory Authority: RCW 43.22.340, [43.22.]355, [43.22.]360, [43.22.]432, [43.22.]440 and 
[43.22.]480. WSR 96-21-146, § 296-150F-0080, filed 10/23/96, effective 11/25/96.] 

 
 
 

296-150F-0090 
What are the requirements for certified plumbers and electricians? 

Plumbers certified under chapter 18.106 RCW and electricians certified under chapter 
19.28 RCW are required for units constructed in Washington. For the purposes of construction 
at the manufacturing facility, the manufacturer is not required to be a licensed electrical 
contractor under chapter 19.28 RCW or a registered contractor as required by chapter 18.27 
RCW. Manufacturers may hire registered plumbing contractors or licensed electrical 
contractors to meet this requirement. 

Work performed outside the manufacturer's facility must be performed by a registered 
contractor under chapter 18.27 RCW, electrical contractor and electricians under chapter 
19.28 RCW, and certified plumbers under chapter 18.106 RCW. 

 
[Statutory Authority: Chapter 43.22 RCW. WSR 12-15-061, § 296-150F-0090, filed 7/17/12, 
effective 9/1/12.] 

 
 
 

296-150F-0100 
What happens if I disagree with your decision regarding my compliance 
with this chapter? 

(1) If we determine you are in violation of this chapter, you will receive a notice of 
noncompliance. 

(2) If you disagree with our decision, you can send us a written request for a hearing, 
stating why you disagree. 

(3) After we receive your hearing request, we will: 
(a) Schedule a hearing within thirty days after we receive your request. 
(b) Notify you of the time, date, and place for the hearing. If you fail to appear, your 

case will be dismissed. 
(c) Hear your case. 
(d) Send you written notice of our decision. 
If you disagree with our decision, you may appeal it under the Administrative 

Procedure Act (chapter 34.05 RCW). 
 

[Statutory Authority: RCW 43.22.340 and 43.22.420. WSR 97-16-043, § 296-150F-0100, filed 
7/31/97, effective 12/1/97. Statutory Authority: RCW 43.22.340, [43.22.]355, [43.22.]360, 
[43.22.]432, [43.22.]440 and [43.22.]480. WSR 96-21-146, § 296-150F-0100, filed 10/23/96, 
effective 11/25/96.] 



Chapter 296-150F WAC: Page 8 of 30 

https://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=296-150F&full=true 2/22/2019 

 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 

 

296-150F-0110 
Do you have an advisory board to address factory-built housing and 
commercial structure issues? 

The factory assembled structures (FAS) board advises us on issues relating to 
structural, plumbing, mechanical, electrical, installation, inspections, and rules for factory- 
assembled structures. (See RCW 43.22.420.) 

 
[Statutory Authority: RCW 43.22.340, [43.22.]355, [43.22.]360, [43.22.]432, [43.22.]440 and 
[43.22.]480. WSR 96-21-146, § 296-150F-0110, filed 10/23/96, effective 11/25/96.] 

 
 
 

296-150F-0120 
Where can I obtain technical assistance regarding factory-built housing 
and commercial structures? 

We provide field technical service to factory-built housing and commercial structure 
manufacturers for an hourly fee. Field technical service may include an evaluation, 
consultation, plan examination, interpretation, and clarification of technical data relating to the 
application of our rules. It does not include inspections. 

 
[Statutory Authority: RCW 43.22.340, [43.22.]355, [43.22.]360, [43.22.]432, [43.22.]440 and 
[43.22.]480. WSR 96-21-146, § 296-150F-0120, filed 10/23/96, effective 11/25/96.] 

 
 
 

296-150F-0130 
How do I register a complaint? 

A person who believes that a structure or component does not meet the requirements 
of this chapter may register a complaint with the department. The complaint must be in writing 
and must specifically describe the alleged violations of this chapter. Upon receipt of the 
complaint, the department will forward a copy to the appropriate manufacturer and/or dealer 
and they shall have thirty days to respond to it. If the department determines that an 
inspection is necessary, the manufacturer/dealer shall pay the department for the cost of the 
inspection. The cost of the inspection is based upon the fee schedule in WAC 296-150F-3000 
and includes the hourly inspection fee, travel costs and other expenses incurred as a result of 
the inspection. 

 
[Statutory Authority: Chapter 43.22 RCW. WSR 98-14-078, § 296-150F-0130, filed 6/30/98, 
effective 7/31/98.] 
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296-150F-0140 
Do you allow the use of alternate materials, alternate design and method of 
construction? 

An applicant may apply for the use of alternate materials, alternate design and 
methods of construction different from the requirements of this chapter by filing a written 
request with the department. 

(1) Responsibilities of applicant. The applicant must submit in writing the following 
information and sign and date the request. 

(a) The applicant's name, address and phone number; 
(b) The specific requirement or requirements from which the alternate material, 

alternate design or method of construction is requested; 
(c) Justification that the requirements of this chapter cannot be met without using 

alternate materials, alternate design or method of construction; 
(d) How the use of alternate materials, alternate design or method of construction will 

achieve the same result as the requirement and any specific alternative measures to be taken 
to show the alternate provides the same level of protection to life, safety and health as the 
requirements. 

The department has a form that you may use for your request. Contact the department 
at the address shown in the definition section. 

(2) Responsibilities of the department. The department will provide a written response 
to the applicant within thirty days of receipt of the written request. The written response will 
state the acceptance or denial of the request, including the reasons for the department's 
decision. At a minimum the department will base its decision based on: 

(a) The applicant's request as described in subsection (1) of this section; 
(b) Research into the request; 
(c) Expert advice. 
(3) Applicant's response to denials. The applicant may appeal the departments 

decision by following the procedure in WAC 296-150F-0100. 
 

[Statutory Authority: RCW 43.22.340, 43.22.350, 43.22.355, 43.22.360, 43.22.400, 43.22.432, 
43.22.433, 43.22.434, 43.22.450, 43.22.480, and 43.22.485. WSR 00-17-148, § 296-150F- 
0140, filed 8/22/00, effective 9/30/00. Statutory Authority: RCW 43.22.340 and 43.22.480. 
WSR 99-13-010, § 296-150F-0140, filed 6/4/99, effective 7/5/99.] 

 
 
 

296-150F-0200 
Who must purchase factory-built housing and commercial structure 
insignia? 

(1) You must obtain insignia from us for each factory-built house, commercial structure 
and component sited in Washington state. 

(2) If you are a Washington state manufacturer, you do not need to purchase our 
insignia for your factory-built housing, commercial structures and components sold outside of 
Washington state. 
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(3) You must have an approved design plan and have passed inspection before an 
insignia can be attached to your factory-built home or commercial structure by us or our 
authorized agent. 

(4) If a unit is damaged in transit after leaving the manufacturing location or during an 
on-site installation, and a repair is necessary, you must purchase an insignia from us. The 
insignia indicates that the unit was repaired. 

 
[Statutory Authority: Chapter 43.22 RCW. WSR 98-14-078, § 296-150F-0200, filed 6/30/98, 
effective 7/31/98. Statutory Authority: RCW 43.22.340, [43.22.]355, [43.22.]360, [43.22.]432, 
[43.22.]440 and [43.22.]480. WSR 96-21-146, § 296-150F-0200, filed 10/23/96, effective 
11/25/96.] 

 
 
 

296-150F-0210 
What are the insignia requirements? 

(1) If you are applying for insignia for factory-built housing, commercial structures and 
components you must have your design plan approved and your units and components 
inspected and approved by us. 

(2) We will attach the insignia after: 
(a) We receive the required forms and fees from you (see WAC 296-150F-3000); and 
(b) Your unit or component has passed final inspection. (See WAC 296-150F-0500.) 

 
[Statutory Authority: Chapter 43.22 RCW. WSR 98-14-078, § 296-150F-0210, filed 6/30/98, 
effective 7/31/98. Statutory Authority: RCW 43.22.340, [43.22.]355, [43.22.]360, [43.22.]432, 
[43.22.]440 and [43.22.]480. WSR 96-21-146, § 296-150F-0210, filed 10/23/96, effective 
11/25/96.] 

 
 
 

296-150F-0220 
How do I obtain insignia information and the required forms? 

Upon request, we will provide you with a packet of information that includes the 
required forms. 

 
[Statutory Authority: RCW 43.22.340, [43.22.]355, [43.22.]360, [43.22.]432, [43.22.]440 and 
[43.22.]480. WSR 96-21-146, § 296-150F-0220, filed 10/23/96, effective 11/25/96.] 

 
 
 

296-150F-0230 
What are the insignia application requirements? 

(1) If you are requesting insignia for units that you intend to manufacture under a new 
design plan, your completed application must include: 

(a) A completed design plan approval request form; 
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(b) Two complete sets of design plans, specifications, engineering analysis, test 
procedures and results, plus one additional set for each manufacturing location where the 
design plan will be used; 

(c) At least one set of design plans must have an original wet stamp from a 
professional engineer or architect licensed in Washington state. We will retain the set with the 
original wet stamp; and 

(d) A one-time initial filing fee, the design plan fee (if we approve your design plan) and 
the fee for each insignia. (See WAC 296-150F-3000.) 

(2) If you are requesting insignia under an approved design plan, your completed 
application must include: 

(a) A completed application for insignia form; and 
(b) The fee for each insignia requested. (See WAC 296-150F-3000.) 

 
[Statutory Authority: Chapter 43.22 RCW. WSR 12-15-061, § 296-150F-0230, filed 7/17/12, 
effective 9/1/12. Statutory Authority: RCW 43.22.340, [43.22.]355, [43.22.]360, [43.22.]432, 
[43.22.]440 and [43.22.]480. WSR 96-21-146, § 296-150F-0230, filed 10/23/96, effective 
11/25/96.] 

 
 
 

296-150F-0250 
How do I replace lost or damaged insignia? 

(1) If an insignia is lost or damaged after it is attached to your factory-built house, 
commercial structure, or component, you may obtain a replacement insignia. 

(2) You should contact us and provide the following information: 
(a) Your name, address, and telephone number; 
(b) The name of the manufacturer; 
(c) The serial number; 
(d) The manufacturer number (M#), if available; 
(e) The insignia number, if available; and 
(f) The required fee. (See WAC 296-150F-3000.) 
(3) If we can determine that your unit previously had an insignia, we will attach an 

insignia to your unit once we receive your insignia fee. (See WAC 296-150F-3000.) 
 

[Statutory Authority: RCW 43.22.340, [43.22.]355, [43.22.]360, [43.22.]432, [43.22.]440 and 
[43.22.]480. WSR 96-21-146, § 296-150F-0250, filed 10/23/96, effective 11/25/96.] 

 
 
 

296-150F-0300 
When is design plan approval required? 

Design plans for factory-built housing and commercial structures prior to installation at 
the building site in Washington must be approved when: 

(1) You build a new unit; 
(2) You modify an approved design plan through an addendum; or 
(3) You add options to an approved design plan through an addendum. 
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[Statutory Authority: RCW 43.22.340, [43.22.]355, [43.22.]360, [43.22.]432, [43.22.]440 and 
[43.22.]480. WSR 96-21-146, § 296-150F-0300, filed 10/23/96, effective 11/25/96.] 

 
 
 

296-150F-0310 
Who can approve design plans? 

(1) Design plans can be approved by us or by a licensed professional or firm 
authorized by us (see WAC 296-150F-0420 and 296-150F-0430). 

(2) All electrical design plans for new or altered electrical installations for educational, 
institutional, health care facilities, and other buildings (see WAC 296-46B-900) must be 
reviewed and approved by us. 

 
[Statutory Authority: Chapter 43.22 RCW. WSR 12-15-061, § 296-150F-0310, filed 7/17/12, 
effective 9/1/12. Statutory Authority: RCW 43.22.340, [43.22.]355, [43.22.]360, [43.22.]432, 
[43.22.]440 and [43.22.]480. WSR 96-21-146, § 296-150F-0310, filed 10/23/96, effective 
11/25/96.] 

 
 
 

296-150F-0320 
What must I provide with my request for design-plan approval by the 
department? 

All requests for design-plan approval must include: 
(1) A completed design-plan approval request form; 
(2) Two complete sets of design plans, specifications, engineering analysis, test 

procedures and results plus one additional set for each manufacturing location where the 
design plan will be used (see WAC 296-150F-0340 and 296-150F-0350); 

(3) At least one set of design plans must have an original wet stamp from a 
professional engineer or architect licensed in Washington state. All new, renewed, and 
resubmitted plans, specifications, reports and structural calculations prepared by or prepared 
under his or her direct supervision shall be signed, dated and stamped with their seal. 
Specifications, reports, and structural calculations may be stamped only on the first sheet, 
provided this first sheet identifies all of the sheets that follow are included and identified in the 
same manner. Plans that have not been prepared by or under the engineer's or architect's 
supervision shall be reviewed by them and they shall prepare a report concerning the plans 
reviewed. This report shall: 

(a) Identify which drawings have been reviewed by drawing number and date; 
(b) Include a statement that the plans are in compliance with current Washington state 

regulations; and 
(c) The report shall be stamped and signed by the reviewer. 
Any deficiencies shall be corrected on the drawings before submitting to the 

department or be included in the report and identify as to how they are to be corrected. This 
report shall be attached to the plan(s) that were reviewed. We will retain the set with the 
original wet stamp; 

(4) A one-time initial filing fee and the design-plan fee (see WAC 296-150F-3000); and 
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(5) A "key drawing" to show the arrangement of modules if the plan covers three or 
more modules. 

(6) Electrical plan review for educational, institutional or health care facilities and other 
buildings. Plan review is a part of the electrical inspection process; its primary purpose is to 
determine: 

(a) That loads and service/feeder conductors are calculated and sized according to the 
proper NEC or WAC article or section; 

(b) The classification of hazardous locations; and 
(c) The proper design of emergency and standby systems. 
(7) All electrical plans for new or altered electrical installations in educational, 

institutional, and health or personal care occupancies classified or defined in this chapter must 
be reviewed and approved before the electrical installation or alteration is started. Approved 
plans must be available for use during the electrical installation or alteration and for use by the 
electrical inspector. 

(8) All electrical plans for educational facilities, hospitals and nursing homes must be 
prepared by, or under the direction of, a consulting engineer registered under chapter 18.43 
RCW in compliance with chapters 246-320 and 388-97 WAC as applicable and stamped with 
the engineer's mark and signature. 

(9) Plans to be reviewed by the department must be legible, identify the name and 
classification of the facility, clearly indicate the scope and nature of the installation and the 
person or firm responsible for the electrical plans. The plans must clearly show the electrical 
installation or alteration in floor plan view, include switchboard and/or panel board schedules 
and when a service or feeder is to be installed or altered, must include a riser diagram, load 
calculation, fault current calculation and interrupting rating of equipment. Where existing 
electrical systems are to supply additional loads, the plans must include documentation that 
proves adequate capacity and ratings. The plans must be submitted with a plan review 
submittal form available from the department. 

 
[Statutory Authority: Chapter 43.22 RCW. WSR 12-15-061, § 296-150F-0320, filed 7/17/12, 
effective 9/1/12; WSR 07-05-063, § 296-150F-0320, filed 2/20/07, effective 4/1/07; WSR 05- 
23-002, § 296-150F-0320, filed 11/3/05, effective 12/4/05. Statutory Authority: RCW 43.22.340 
and 43.22.480. WSR 99-13-010, § 296-150F-0320, filed 6/4/99, effective 7/5/99. Statutory 
Authority: RCW 43.22.340, [43.22.]355, [43.22.]360, [43.22.]432, [43.22.]440 and [43.22.]480. 
WSR 96-21-146, § 296-150F-0320, filed 10/23/96, effective 11/25/96.] 

 
 
 

296-150F-0325 
What are the requirements for temporary built structures? 

Structures built for temporary use must meet all the requirements of this chapter. 
 

[Statutory Authority: Chapter 43.22 RCW. WSR 12-15-061, § 296-150F-0325, filed 7/17/12, 
effective 9/1/12.] 
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296-150F-0340 
What must an engineering analysis for design plans include? 

(1) The engineering analysis must show that the structural design meets the 
requirements of this chapter. 

(2) An engineering analysis must be conducted according to accepted engineering 
practices and must be signed by a professional engineer or architect licensed in Washington 
state. 

 
[Statutory Authority: RCW 43.22.340, [43.22.]355, [43.22.]360, [43.22.]432, [43.22.]440 and 
[43.22.]480. WSR 96-21-146, § 296-150F-0340, filed 10/23/96, effective 11/25/96.] 

 
 
 

296-150F-0350 
What must the test procedures and results for design plans include? 

(1) Tests to a design for a factory-built home or commercial structure must be 
witnessed by a professional engineer or architect licensed in Washington state. 

(2) Test reports must contain the following items: 
(a) A description of the methods or standards that applied to the test; 
(b) Drawings and a description of the item tested; 
(c) A description of the test setup; 
(d) The procedure used to verify the correct load; 
(e) The procedure used to measure each condition; 
(f) Test data, including applicable graphs and observations of the characteristics and 

behavior of the item tested; and 
(g) Analysis, comments, and conclusion. 
(3) The written test procedures, results and conclusions must reference the applicable 

design plan. 
 

[Statutory Authority: RCW 43.22.340, [43.22.]355, [43.22.]360, [43.22.]432, [43.22.]440 and 
[43.22.]480. WSR 96-21-146, § 296-150F-0350, filed 10/23/96, effective 11/25/96.] 

 
 
 

296-150F-0380 
What happens if you approve my design plan? 

(1) Your design plan will be approved if it meets the requirements of this chapter. 
(2) We will send you an approved copy of the design plan with the design-plan 

approval number. 
(3) You must keep copies of the approved design plan at each location where a 

factory-built house, commercial structure, or component is built. 
(4) If your design plan is not approved, you will be notified in writing of plan 

deficiencies. You may send a corrected design plan to us. (See WAC 296-150F-3000.) 
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[Statutory Authority: RCW 43.22.340, [43.22.]355, [43.22.]360, [43.22.]432, [43.22.]440 and 
[43.22.]480. WSR 96-21-146, § 296-150F-0380, filed 10/23/96, effective 11/25/96.] 

 
 
 

296-150F-0390 
If my design plan is not approved, how much time do I have to submit a 
corrected design plan? 

(1) You have ninety days to correct and resubmit your original design plan and send us 
the resubmittal fee after we notify you of plan deficiencies. After ninety days, your initial design 
plan is returned to you. 

(2) If you submit your corrected design plan after ninety days, you must send the initial 
design plan fee instead of the resubmittal fee. (See WAC 296-150F-3000.) 

 
[Statutory Authority: RCW 43.22.340, [43.22.]355, [43.22.]360, [43.22.]432, [43.22.]440 and 
[43.22.]480. WSR 96-21-146, § 296-150F-0390, filed 10/23/96, effective 11/25/96.] 

 
 
 

296-150F-0400 
What happens after my design plan is approved? 

Once your design plan is approved, we will inspect each related factory-built house, 
commercial structure, or component. 

 
[Statutory Authority: RCW 43.22.340, [43.22.]355, [43.22.]360, [43.22.]432, [43.22.]440 and 
[43.22.]480. WSR 96-21-146, § 296-150F-0400, filed 10/23/96, effective 11/25/96.] 

 
 
 

296-150F-0410 
When does my design plan expire? 

Master design plan: 
(1) Your master design plan expires when there is a code change. You must submit 

new design plans for approval when there is a State Building Code cycle change. You may 
use your approved master design plans to order insignia as long as they comply with the 
applicable codes. 

One-year design plan: 
(2) Your factory-built home or commercial structure one-year design plan expires 

either one year after approval or when there is a code change. You must submit new design 
plans for approval when there is a State Building Code cycle change. You may use your 
design plan to order insignia as long as they comply with the applicable codes. 

(3) All National Electrical Code amendments may be incorporated by an addendum to 
your design plan. 
Note: The State Building Code is on a three-year code cycle which coincides with the State Building Code council 

amendment cycle. The National Electrical Code (NEC) cycle, however, does not coincide with the other code cycles. 
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[Statutory Authority: RCW 43.22.340, [43.22.]355, [43.22.]360, [43.22.]432, [43.22.]440 and 
[43.22.]480. WSR 96-21-146, § 296-150F-0410, filed 10/23/96, effective 11/25/96.] 

 
 
 

296-150F-0415 
Who approves addendums to design plans approved by the department? 

You must have us approve an addendum to a design plan, if we initially approved your 
design plan. 

 
[Statutory Authority: RCW 43.22.340, [43.22.]355, [43.22.]360, [43.22.]432, [43.22.]440 and 
[43.22.]480. WSR 96-21-146, § 296-150F-0415, filed 10/23/96, effective 11/25/96.] 

 
 
 

296-150F-0420 
Who can be authorized to approve design plans? 

(1) A professional engineer, architect or firm licensed by the state of Washington 
according to the Engineers Registration Act, chapter 18.43 RCW and/or the Architects 
Registration Act, chapter 18.08 RCW; or 

(2) A professional engineer, architect or firm licensed in another state that has 
licensing or certification requirements that meet or exceed Washington requirements. 

 
[Statutory Authority: RCW 43.22.340, [43.22.]355, [43.22.]360, [43.22.]432, [43.22.]440 and 
[43.22.]480. WSR 96-21-146, § 296-150F-0420, filed 10/23/96, effective 11/25/96.] 

 
 
 

296-150F-0430 
What information must a professional or firm provide to be authorized to 
approve design plans? 

(1) Name, a copy of your certificate of registration, and address of the professional 
engineer or architect; or 

(2) Name, a copy of your certificate of authority, and address of the firm; and 
(3) A description of the services the professional engineer, architect, or firm will 

provide; and 
(4) A description of the professional's area(s) of expertise and qualifications which 

include: 
(a) A summary of the professional's or firm's experience; and 
(b) Verification of experience in your area of expertise such as structural, mechanical, 

plumbing, energy, electrical, fire and life safety, and ventilation and indoor air quality. 
 

[Statutory Authority: RCW 43.22.340, [43.22.]355, [43.22.]360, [43.22.]432, [43.22.]440 and 
[43.22.]480. WSR 96-21-146, § 296-150F-0430, filed 10/23/96, effective 11/25/96.] 
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296-150F-0440 
How will I know whether I am authorized to approve design plans? 

Within sixty days after you submit the information requested in WAC 296-150F-0430, 
we will send you a letter either approving or denying your authorization request. 

(1) If we approve your request, your name is added to the list of licensed professionals 
and firms authorized to approve design plans. 

(a) We will authorize a professional to approve portions of a design plan within his or 
her area of expertise; and 

(b) We will authorize an engineering or architectural firm to approve plans if the firm 
employs or contracts with professionals within the area of expertise necessary for the design 
plan. 

(2) If we do not approve your request, we will notify you in writing why we are denying 
your request for authorization. If you disagree with our decision, you can send us a written 
request for a hearing, stating why you disagree. (See WAC 296-150F-0100.) 

 
[Statutory Authority: RCW 43.22.340, [43.22.]355, [43.22.]360, [43.22.]432, [43.22.]440 and 
[43.22.]480. WSR 96-21-146, § 296-150F-0440, filed 10/23/96, effective 11/25/96.] 

 
 
 

296-150F-0450 
How long is a licensed professional or firms authorization effective? 

Your authorization to approve design plans is effective until your license expires, is 
revoked or is suspended. 

(1) You must notify us of your license renewal at least fifteen days before your license 
expires, to prevent your name from being removed from our licensed professional and firm list. 

(2) You must notify us immediately if your license is revoked or suspended. Your name 
is then removed from the list of licensed professionals and firms authorized to approve design 
plans. 

 
[Statutory Authority: RCW 43.22.340, [43.22.]355, [43.22.]360, [43.22.]432, [43.22.]440 and 
[43.22.]480. WSR 96-21-146, § 296-150F-0450, filed 10/23/96, effective 11/25/96.] 

 
 
 

296-150F-0460 
What information must a manufacturer provide when a professional or firm 
does the design plan approval? 

You must provide the following information with your approved design plan: 
(1) A completed departmental design plan approval request form; 
(2) Two or more sets of the design plans plus elevation drawings, specifications, 

engineering analysis, and test results and procedures necessary for a complete evaluation of 
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the design. These design plans must have an original wet stamp, be signed, and dated by the 
approving professional(s) (see WAC 296-150F-0340 and 296-150F-0350); 

(3) A cover sheet on the design plan noting which professional approved each portion 
of the design plan; 

(4) A copy of the authorization letter from us; 
(5) The design plan fee for design plans approved by professionals or firms (see WAC 

296-150F-3000); 
(6) A professional who designs and certifies that the factory-built home or commercial 

structure design meets state requirements cannot also approve the design plan in the plan 
approval process; 

(7) A professional cannot approve those electrical designs listed in WAC 296-150F- 
0310(2); and 

(8) A professional cannot approve plans submitted under a reciprocal agreement. 
 

[Statutory Authority: Chapter 43.22 RCW. WSR 98-14-078, § 296-150F-0460, filed 6/30/98, 
effective 7/31/98. Statutory Authority: RCW 43.22.340, [43.22.]355, [43.22.]360, [43.22.]432, 
[43.22.]440 and [43.22.]480. WSR 96-21-146, § 296-150F-0460, filed 10/23/96, effective 
11/25/96.] 

 
 
 

296-150F-0470 
What happens after we receive the professional or firm approved design 
plan and information? 

(1) After we receive your approved design plans and information, we will review the 
information and assign a plan approval number. We will send a copy of the design plan with 
the plan approval number to the manufacturer. 

(2) We may periodically audit design plans approved by a professional engineer, 
architect, or firm to ensure compliance with design plan requirements. The department's 
periodic audit should not be construed as certifying that the plans are safe. 

(3) If the audit reveals that the design plans approved by the professionals and firms 
do not comply with this chapter, you will be notified and required to pay our fees for review 
and approval of the design plans. (See WAC 296-150F-3000.) 

 
[Statutory Authority: RCW 43.22.340, [43.22.]355, [43.22.]360, [43.22.]432, [43.22.]440 and 
[43.22.]480. WSR 96-21-146, § 296-150F-0470, filed 10/23/96, effective 11/25/96.] 

 
 
 

296-150F-0480 
Do you have a list of professionals or firms that are authorized to submit 
design plans? 

We will maintain a list of the licensed professionals and firms that are authorized to 
approve design plans for factory-built housing and commercial structures. 
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[Statutory Authority: RCW 43.22.340, [43.22.]355, [43.22.]360, [43.22.]432, [43.22.]440 and 
[43.22.]480. WSR 96-21-146, § 296-150F-0480, filed 10/23/96, effective 11/25/96.] 

 
 
 

296-150F-0490 
Who approves addendums to design plans approved by a professional or 
firm? 

(1) You must have the professional or firm approve an addendum to a design plan, if 
they initially approved your design plan. 

(2) If the professional or firm who approved your design plan is no longer on the 
department list you may have us approve your addendum. 

 
[Statutory Authority: RCW 43.22.340, [43.22.]355, [43.22.]360, [43.22.]432, [43.22.]440 and 
[43.22.]480. WSR 96-21-146, § 296-150F-0490, filed 10/23/96, effective 11/25/96.] 

 
 
 

296-150F-0495 
Contractor deposit accounts. 

Manufacturers are required to open and maintain, for the purpose of inspection 
payments, a deposit account. Funds, for the purpose of inspections performed by the 
department, must be withdrawn from the account and all inspections paid in full prior to an 
insignia being placed on the manufactured unit. 

 
[Statutory Authority: Chapter 43.22 RCW. WSR 12-15-061, § 296-150F-0495, filed 7/17/12, 
effective 9/1/12.] 

 
 
 

296-150F-0500 
When is an inspection required? 

(1) Before we issue an insignia, each factory-built house, commercial structure, and 
component must be inspected at the manufacturing location as many times as are required by 
the codes. (See WAC 296-150F-0600.) Inspections may include: 

(a) A "cover" inspection during construction of the unit before the electrical, plumbing, 
mechanical, and structural systems are covered; 

(b) Insulation and vapor barrier inspection, if required; 
(c) Other required code inspections; 
(d) A final inspection after the factory-built house, commercial structure, or component 

is complete; 
Note: Each factory-built house, commercial structure, and component must have a serial number to enable us to track 

inspections. 

(2) If we discover a violation during inspection, we will issue a notice of 
noncompliance. You can correct the violation during the inspection. If you cannot correct the 
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violation during inspection, you must leave the item uncovered until we approve your 
correction. 

(3) After a unit is manufactured but before occupancy, we must inspect a factory-built 
house or commercial structure if it is damaged in transit to the building site or during on-site 
installation. This is considered a repair inspection. (See WAC 296-150F-0540.) 

(4) Approved design plans must be available in compliance with the applicable 
sections of adopted state codes. 

(5) Once your unit is inspected and approved we will attach the insignia. 
(6) Components shall be identified as having been approved by attaching an insignia 

to the first component and all additional components for one job site shall have a label issued 
by the department as having been approved. 
Note: We only inspect factory-built housing and commercial structures before occupancy. After occupancy, the local 

enforcement agency is the inspection agency. 
 

[Statutory Authority: RCW 43.22.340, 43.22.350, 43.22.355, 43.22.360, 43.22.400, 43.22.432, 
43.22.433, 43.22.434, 43.22.450, 43.22.480, and 43.22.485. WSR 00-17-148, § 296-150F- 
0500, filed 8/22/00, effective 9/30/00. Statutory Authority: Chapter 43.22 RCW. WSR 98-14- 
078, § 296-150F-0500, filed 6/30/98, effective 7/31/98. Statutory Authority: RCW 43.22.340, 
[43.22.]355, [43.22.]360, [43.22.]432, [43.22.]440 and [43.22.]480. WSR 96-21-146, § 296- 
150F-0500, filed 10/23/96, effective 11/25/96.] 

 
 
 

296-150F-0510 
How do I request an inspection? 

(1) You must contact us, and we will let you know where your request for inspection 
should be submitted. Our address is noted in the definition of department. 

(2) We must receive in-state inspection requests at least seven calendar days prior to 
the date that you want the inspection. 

(3) We must receive out-of-state inspection requests at least fourteen calendar days 
prior to the date that you want the inspection. 

 
[Statutory Authority: RCW 43.22.340, [43.22.]355, [43.22.]360, [43.22.]432, [43.22.]440 and 
[43.22.]480. WSR 96-21-146, § 296-150F-0510, filed 10/23/96, effective 11/25/96.] 

 
 
 

296-150F-0520 
What happens if my factory-built house or commercial structure passes 
inspection? 

(1) If your factory-built house or commercial structure passes inspection and you have 
met the other requirements of this chapter, we will attach the insignia. 

(2) After our final inspection, we will send a notice to the local enforcement agency 
(NLEA) indicating whether further inspection is necessary. (See WAC 296-150F-0550.) 
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[Statutory Authority: RCW 43.22.340, [43.22.]355, [43.22.]360, [43.22.]432, [43.22.]440 and 
[43.22.]480. WSR 96-21-146, § 296-150F-0520, filed 10/23/96, effective 11/25/96.] 

 
 
 

296-150F-0530 
Am I charged if I request an inspection but I am not prepared? 

(1) If you ask us to inspect a factory-built house or commercial structure within 
Washington state but you are not prepared when we arrive, you must pay the minimum 
inspection fee and travel. (See WAC 296-150F-3000.) 

(2) If you ask us to inspect a factory-built home, commercial structure, or component 
outside Washington state but you are not prepared when we arrive, you must pay the 
minimum inspection fee, travel, and per diem expenses. (See WAC 296-150F-3000.) 

 
[Statutory Authority: RCW 43.22.340, [43.22.]355, [43.22.]360, [43.22.]432, [43.22.]440 and 
[43.22.]480. WSR 96-21-146, § 296-150F-0530, filed 10/23/96, effective 11/25/96.] 

 
 
 

296-150F-0540 
Who inspects factory-built housing and commercial structures for 
installation at the building site? 

(1) The local enforcement agency (city or county) must approve the installation. 
(2) The local enforcement agency may also request a set of design plans and 

specifications for the unit from you. 
(3) After the unit is manufactured but before occupancy, we must inspect a factory-built 

house or commercial structure if it is damaged in transit to the building site or during on-site 
installation. This is considered a repair inspection. 
Note: The local enforcement agency may not open the concealed construction of a factory-built house or commercial 

structure to inspect if our insignia is attached. 
 

[Statutory Authority: RCW 43.22.340, [43.22.]355, [43.22.]360, [43.22.]432, [43.22.]440 and 
[43.22.]480. WSR 96-21-146, § 296-150F-0540, filed 10/23/96, effective 11/25/96.] 

 
 
 

296-150F-0550 
Do you notify the local enforcement agency after your final inspection of 
factory-built structures at a manufacturing location? 

After we perform a final inspection of a factory-built, commercial structure, or 
component, we will send a notice to the local enforcement agency (NLEA) that: 

(1) Specifies what connections, standards, and incomplete items the local enforcement 
agency must check when the unit is installed; and/or 

(2) Estimates the expected time of arrival of the factory-built house or commercial 
structure to the site. 
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[Statutory Authority: RCW 43.22.340, [43.22.]355, [43.22.]360, [43.22.]432, [43.22.]440 and 
[43.22.]480. WSR 96-21-146, § 296-150F-0550, filed 10/23/96, effective 11/25/96.] 

 
 
 

296-150F-0580 
Must I obtain an insignia for used factory-built structures? 

All used factory-built housing and commercial structures that are to be installed on a 
building site in Washington state must have an insignia of approval from the department prior 
to being installed on a building site or it must be approved by the local building official as a 
moved building or structure as allowed by section 3410 of the International Building Code. 

 
[Statutory Authority: Chapter 43.22 RCW. WSR 12-15-061, § 296-150F-0580, filed 7/17/12, 
effective 9/1/12; WSR 07-05-063, § 296-150F-0580, filed 2/20/07, effective 4/1/07. Statutory 
Authority: RCW 43.22.340, [43.22.]355, [43.22.]360, [43.22.]432, [43.22.]440 and [43.22.]480. 
WSR 96-21-146, § 296-150F-0580, filed 10/23/96, effective 11/25/96.] 

 
 
 

296-150F-0590 
How do I obtain insignia for used factory-built structures? 

We consider used factory-built housing and commercial structures as new structures 
for purposes of insignia approval. To obtain insignia, you must: 

(1) Have the design plan approved by us (see WAC 296-150F-0300 through 296- 
150F-0480); 

(2) Purchase insignia (see WAC 296-150F-0200 through 296-150F-0230); and 
(3) Pass a unit inspection (see WAC 296-150F-0500 through 296-150F-0550). 

Note: You will be required to open up as much of the construction of the unit as is necessary for inspection to show 
compliance with your approved design plan. 

 

[Statutory Authority: RCW 43.22.340, [43.22.]355, [43.22.]360, [43.22.]432, [43.22.]440 and 
[43.22.]480. WSR 96-21-146, § 296-150F-0590, filed 10/23/96, effective 11/25/96.] 

 
 
 

296-150F-0600 
What manufacturing codes apply to factory-built housing and commercial 
structures? 

(1) All design, construction, installations, and alterations of factory-built housing, 
commercial structures, and components must conform with the following codes and the 
requirements of this chapter: 

(a) The State Building Code, chapter 19.27 RCW; 
Note: The International Building Code reference to "building official" means the chief prefabricated building specialist or 

authorized representative at the department of labor and industries. 

(b) The Energy Related Building Standards, chapter 19.27A RCW; 
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(c) The National Electrical Code as referenced in chapter 19.28 RCW and chapter 
296-46 B WAC. 

(2) All construction methods and installations must use accepted engineering 
practices, provide minimum health and safety to the occupants of factory-built structures and 
the public, and demonstrate journeyperson quality of work of the various trades. 

(3) Requirements for any size, weight, or quality of material modified by the terms 
"minimum," "not less than," "at least," and similar expressions are minimum standards. The 
manufacturer may exceed these standards, provided the deviation does not result in inferior 
installation or defeat the purpose and intent of the standard. 
Note: The codes, RCW's, and WAC's referenced in this rule are available for reference at the Washington State Library, 

the Washington State Law Library, and may be available at your local library. 
 

[Statutory Authority: Chapter 43.22 RCW. WSR 12-15-061, § 296-150F-0600, filed 7/17/12, 
effective 9/1/12. Statutory Authority: RCW 43.22.340, [43.22.]355, [43.22.]360, [43.22.]432, 
[43.22.]440 and [43.22.]480. WSR 96-21-146, § 296-150F-0600, filed 10/23/96, effective 
11/25/96.] 

 
 
 

296-150F-0605 
May the required toilet facilities be located in an adjacent building? 

Under the following conditions, the department will allow the required toilet facilities to 
be located in adjacent building(s): 

(1) The manufacturer shall note in the plan submittal that the requirements of IBC 
Chapter 29, Section 2902.1 and Section 2902.2, as amended by the state building code must 
be verified by the building official; and 

(2) A Notification to Local Enforcement Agency (NLEA) must accompany each unit so 
that the requirements of IBC Chapter 29, Section 2902.1 and Section 2902.2 as amended by 
the state building code can be verified by the building official. 

 
[Statutory Authority: Chapter 43.22 RCW. WSR 12-15-061, § 296-150F-0605, filed 7/17/12, 
effective 9/1/12. Statutory Authority: Chapter 43.22 RCW and 2003 c 291. WSR 05-01-102, § 
296-150F-0605, filed 12/14/04, effective 2/1/05. Statutory Authority: RCW 43.22.340 and 
43.22.480. WSR 99-13-010, § 296-150F-0605, filed 6/4/99, effective 7/5/99.] 

 
 
 

296-150F-0610 
Do you require the exit doors to be one-half the diagonal distance apart if 
each area served has its own exit door? 

If the area served has an occupant load requiring only one exit and a building contains 
more than one area where each area is served by individual exits, and a personnel door is 
added between adjoining rooms, a personnel door in the partition wall will not be construed to 
create a larger area served. The exits will not be required to be one-half of the diagonal apart. 
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[Statutory Authority: RCW 43.22.340 and 43.22.480. WSR 99-13-010, § 296-150F-0610, filed 
6/4/99, effective 7/5/99.] 

 
 
 

296-150F-0620 
Does the department require a water system expansion tank be installed? 

The department will only require that a tee be installed in an accessible location for the 
future addition of an expansion tank where one may be installed if required. 

 
[Statutory Authority: RCW 43.22.340 and 43.22.480. WSR 99-13-010, § 296-150F-0620, filed 
6/4/99, effective 7/5/99.] 

 
 
 

296-150F-0625 
Are there any special requirements for portable school classrooms? 

In addition to the requirements in the state building code, the department of health has 
rules regulating primary and secondary schools in chapter 246-366 WAC. One of those 
requirements is that "Instructional areas shall have a minimum average ceiling height of 8 
feet." 

 
[Statutory Authority: RCW 43.22.340 and 43.22.480. WSR 99-13-010, § 296-150F-0625, filed 
6/4/99, effective 7/5/99.] 

 
 
 

296-150F-0630 
When HVAC equipment is supplied with more than one CFM rating, which 
rating do I use? 

Where HVAC equipment manufacturers show multiple cubic feet per minute (CFM) 
ratings and/or multiple water gauge ratings, you must use the highest rated capacity. 

 
[Statutory Authority: RCW 43.22.340, 43.22.350, 43.22.355, 43.22.360, 43.22.400, 43.22.432, 
43.22.433, 43.22.434, 43.22.450, 43.22.480, and 43.22.485. WSR 00-17-148, § 296-150F- 
0630, filed 8/22/00, effective 9/30/00.] 

 
 
 

296-150F-0700 
Must manufacturers of factory-built housing and commercial structures 
notify you if they manufacture at more than one location? 

(1) If you are manufacturing factory-built housing and commercial structures at more 
than one location, approved design plans must be available at each manufacturing location. 
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(2) You are required to send us the following information for each manufacturing 
location: 

(a) Company name; 
(b) Mailing and physical address; and 
(c) Phone and fax number if available. 
(3) You must update this information as it changes. 

 
[Statutory Authority: RCW 43.22.340, [43.22.]355, [43.22.]360, [43.22.]432, [43.22.]440 and 
[43.22.]480. WSR 96-21-146, § 296-150F-0700, filed 10/23/96, effective 11/25/96.] 

 
 
 

296-150F-0710 
Must manufacturers of factory-built housing and commercial structures 
notify you of a change in business name or address? 

(1) If you are moving, notify us in writing prior to a change of business name or 
address. 

(2) Your notice must include the change of name and address. 
 

[Statutory Authority: RCW 43.22.340, [43.22.]355, [43.22.]360, [43.22.]432, [43.22.]440 and 
[43.22.]480. WSR 96-21-146, § 296-150F-0710, filed 10/23/96, effective 11/25/96.] 

 
 
 

296-150F-0720 
Must manufacturers of factory-built housing and commercial structures 
notify you of a change in business ownership? 

(1) When a manufacturer changes ownership, the new owner must notify us in writing 
immediately. 

(2) A new owner may continue to manufacture the units according to a prior approved 
design plan if the prior owner releases the design plan. 

 
[Statutory Authority: RCW 43.22.340, [43.22.]355, [43.22.]360, [43.22.]432, [43.22.]440 and 
[43.22.]480. WSR 96-21-146, § 296-150F-0720, filed 10/23/96, effective 11/25/96.] 

 
 
 

296-150F-3000 
Factory-built housing and commercial structure fees. 

 

Manufacture: Manufacturer # 
1. 
3. 

Building use: 
Type of 
construction: 

2. Building occupancy: 
4. Square footage of building: 

5. Valuation of the building shall be based on the following: 

GENERAL INFORMATION 
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• Square footage of the building multiplied by the amount in the 
BVD valuation table . . . . 

$ . . . . . 

6. Total valuation: . . . . $ . . . . . 
PERMIT FEE 

7. Calculate from building permit fee table using the total valuation . . . . $ . . . . . 
STRUCTURAL PLAN REVIEW FEE* 

8. One year design 
review: 

(Valid for one year) multiply the total on line 7 
by 0.364 . . . . 

$ . . . . . 

9. Master plan review: (Valid for the code cycle) multiply the total on 
line 7 by 0.52 . . . . $ . . . . . 

* Minimum plan review fee is 2 1/2 hours x $88.90 per hour 
FIRE AND LIFE-SAFETY PLAN REVIEW FEE (if required) 

10. Fire and life-safety plan review: 
a. One year design—Multiply the total on line 7 by 0.156 . . . . $ . . . . . 
b. Master plan design—Multiply the total on line 7 by 0.26 . . . . $ . . . . . 

• Required for all structures that are more than 4,000 square feet and for all A, I, and H 
occupancy 

PLUMBING PLAN-REVIEW FEE 

11. Plumbing $18.70 + $6.20 per fixture . . . . $ . . . . . 
12. Medical gas $18.70 + $6.20 per gas outlet . . . . $ . . . . . 
DESIGN RENEWAL OR ADDENDUM 

13. 10.4% of building permit + $88.90 . . . . $ . . . . . 
RESUBMITTAL 

14. 10.4% of building permit + $88.90 . . . . $ . . . . . 
ELECTRICAL PLAN-REVIEW FEE 

15. See WAC 296-46B-906 (9) for electrical review fees 
NOTIFICATION TO LOCAL ENFORCEMENT AGENCY (NLEA) 

16. Notification to local enforcement agency fee: $ 38.40 
INSIGNIA FEES 

17. FIRST SECTION $ 284.30 
18. EACH ADDITIONAL SECTION $ 25.50 
TOTAL FEES 

19. Total plan review 
fees: 

Add lines 8 or 9 and 10 through 15 . . . . $ . . . . . 

20. Total fees due: Includes plan fees, insignia fees, and NLEA 
fees . . . . 

$ . . . . . 

21. Total amount paid. . . . $ . . . . . 

Square Foot Construction Costs (BVD Table)a, b, c, and d 
Group (2009 
International 

Building 
Code) 

A-1 
Assembly, 
theaters, with 
stage 
A-1 
Assembly, 

IA 
211.15 

IB IIA IIB IIIA IIIB IV VA V 
203.98 198.73 190.05 178.25 173.30 183.31 162.97 156 

193.16 185.99 180.74 172.06 160.31 155.36 165.32 145.04 138 
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theaters, 
without stage 

 

A-2 
Assembly, 
nightclubs 

163.22 158.56 154.17 148.00 138.96 135.24 142.52 126.06 121 

A-2 
Assembly, 
restaurants, 
bars, banquet 
halls 

162.22 157.56 152.17 147.00 136.96 134.24 141.52 124.06 120 

A-3 
Assembly, 
churches 

195.10 187.93 182.68 174.00 162.21 157.26 167.26 146.94 140 

A-3 
Assembly, 
general, 
community 
halls, 
libraries, 
museums 

163.81 156.64 150.39 142.71 129.91 125.96 135.97 114.63 108 

A-4 
Assembly, 
arenas 

192.16 184.99 178.74 171.06 158.31 154.36 164.32 143.04 137 

B Business 164.76 158.78 153.49 145.97 132.45 127.63 139.92 116.43 110 
E Educational 176.97 170.85 165.64 158.05 146.37 138.98 152.61 127.91 123 
F-1 Factory 
and industrial, 
moderate 
hazard 

97.87 93.28 87.66 84.46 75.44 72.26 80.79 62.17 58. 

F-2 Factory 
and industrial, 
low hazard 

96.87 92.28 87.66 83.46 75.44 71.26 79.79 62.17 57. 

H-1 High 
hazard, 
explosives 

91.74 87.15 82.53 78.33 70.49 66.31 74.66 57.22 N. 

H-2, 3, 4 High 
hazard 

91.74 87.15 82.53 78.33 70.49 66.31 74.66 57.22 52. 

H-5 HPM 164.76 158.78 153.49 145.97 132.45 127.63 139.92 116.43 110 
I-1 
Institutional, 
supervised 
environment 

164.82 159.04 154.60 147.90 135.84 132.25 144.15 121.88 117 

I-2 
Institutional, 
hospitals 

277.07 271.09 265.80 258.28 243.90 N.P. 252.23 227.88 N. 

I-2 
Institutional, 
nursing 
homes 

193.00 187.02 181.74 174.22 160.98 N.P. 168.16 144.96 N. 

 187.72 181.73 176.45 168.93 156.64 150.82 162.87 140.63 133 
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a Private garages use utility, miscellaneous 
b Unfinished basements (all use group) = $15.00 per sq. ft. 
c For shell only buildings deduct 20 percent 
d N.P. = not permitted 

Table 1-A - Building Permit Fees 
Fee 

$1.00 to $500.00 
$501.00 to $2,000.00 
 
$2,001.00 to $25,000.00 
 
$25,001.00 to $50,000.00 
 
$50,001.00 to $100,000.00 
 
$100,001.00 to $500,000.00 
 
$500,001.00 to $1,000,000.00 

$23.50 
$23.50 for the first $500.00 plus $3.05 for each additional 
$100.00, or fraction thereof, to and including $2,000.00 
$69.25 for the first $2,000.00 plus $14.00 for each additional 
$1,000.00, or fraction thereof, to and including $25,000.00 
$391.25 for the first $25,000.00 plus $10.10 for each additional 
$1,000.00, or fraction thereof, to and including $50,000.00 
$643.75 for the first $50,000.00 plus $7.00 for each additional 
$1,000.00, or fraction thereof, to and including $100,000.00 
$993.75 for the first $100,000.00 plus $5.60 for each additional 
$1,000.00, or fraction thereof, to and including $500,000.00 
$3,233.75 for the first $500,000.00 plus $4.75 for each 
additional $1,000.00, or fraction thereof, to and including 
$1,000,000.00 

Total Valuation 

I-3 
Institutional, 
restrained 

 

I-4 
Institutional, 
day care 
facilities 

164.82 159.04 154.60 147.90 135.84 132.25 144.15 121.88 117 

M Mercantile 121.57 116.92 111.53 106.36 96.96 94.25 100.88 84.07 80. 
R-1 
Residential, 
hotels 

166.21 160.43 155.99 149.29 137.39 133.80 145.70 123.43 119 

R-2 
Residential, 
multiple family 

139.39 133.61 129.17 122.47 111.23 107.64 119.54 97.27 92. 

R-3 
Residential, 
one and two 
family 

131.18 127.60 124.36 121.27 116.43 113.53 117.42 108.79 101 

R-4 
Residential, 
care/assisted 
living facilities 

164.82 159.04 154.60 147.90 135.84 132.25 144.15 121.88 117 

S-1 Storage, 
moderate 
hazard 

90.74 86.15 80.53 77.33 68.49 65.31 73.66 55.22 51. 

S-2 Storage, 
low hazard 

89.74 85.15 80.53 76.33 68.49 64.31 72.66 55.22 50. 

U Utility, 
miscellaneous 

71.03 67.02 62.71 59.30 52.86 49.43 56.33 41.00 39. 
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$1,000,001.00 and up $5,608.75 for the first $1,000,000.00 plus $3.65 for each 
additional $1,000.00, or fraction thereof 

INITIAL FILING FEE (first time applicants) $69.40 
DESIGN PLAN FEES: 

INITIAL FEE - MASTER DESIGN (code cycle), 50% of permit fee × 1.04* 
INITIAL FEE - ONE YEAR DESIGN, 35% of permit fee × 1.04* 
RENEWAL FEE - 10% of permit fee × 1.04 + $88.90 
RESUBMIT FEE - 10% of permit fee × 1.04 + $88.90 
ADDENDUM (approval expires on same date as original plan) - 10% of permit fee × 
1.04 + 
ELECTRONIC PLAN SUBMITTAL FEE $5.60 per page for the first set of plans and 
$1.00 per page for each additional set of plans. These fees are in addition to any 
applicable design plan fees required under this section. 

$88.90 

PLUMBING PLAN FEE, $18.70 + PER FIXTURE FEE of $6.20 
MEDICAL GAS PLAN FEE, $18.70 + PER OUTLET FEE of $6.20 
Note: Mechanical systems are included in the primary plan fee 

FIRE SAFETY PLAN REVIEW AS REQUIRED (Required for all structures that are 
more than 4,000 square feet and for all A, I, and H occupancy) 

MASTER DESIGN - 25% of permit fee × 1.04 
One year design - 15% of the permit fee × 1.04 

ELECTRICAL PLAN REVIEW - Find fees @ http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx? 
cite= 296-46B-906 
RECIPROCAL PLAN REVIEW: 

 

INITIAL FEE-MASTER DESIGN (minimum 3 hours) $88.90 
per hour 

INITIAL FEE-ONE YEAR DESIGN (minimum 2 hours) $88.90 
per hour 

RENEWAL FEE (minimum 1 hour) $88.90 
ADDENDUM (minimum 1 hour) $88.90 

per hour 
PLANS APPROVED BY DESIGN PROFESSIONALS - 10% of permit fee × 1.04 + $88.90 
APPROVAL OF EACH SET OF DESIGN PLANS BEYOND FIRST THREE SETS - 
5% of permit fee × 1.04 + 

$88.90 

DEPARTMENT INSPECTION FEES  

INSPECTION/REINSPECTION (Per hour** plus travel time** and mileage***) $88.90 
TRAVEL (Per hour**) $88.90 
PER DIEM***  

HOTEL****  

MILEAGE***  

RENTAL CAR****  

PARKING****  
AIRFARE****  

DEPARTMENT AUDIT FEES:  

AUDIT (Per hour**) $88.90 
TRAVEL (Per hour**) $88.90 
PER DIEM***  

HOTEL****  

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx
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* Minimum plan review fee is 2 1/2 hours at the field technical service rate. 

** Minimum charge of 1 hour; time spent greater than 1 hour is charged in 1/2 hour increments. 
*** Per state guidelines. 

**** Actual charges incurred. 
 

[Statutory Authority: Chapters 18.27, 70.87, 43.22, and 43.22A RCW. WSR 18-24-102, § 296- 
150F-3000, filed 12/4/18, effective 1/4/19. Statutory Authority: Chapter 43.22 RCW and 2011 
1st sp.s. c 50. WSR 12-06-069, § 296-150F-3000, filed 3/6/12, effective 4/30/12. Statutory 
Authority: Chapters 18.106, 43.22 RCW, 2008 c 285 and c 329. WSR 08-12-042, § 296-150F- 
3000, filed 5/30/08, effective 6/30/08. Statutory Authority: Chapters 18.27, 18.106, 43.22, and 
70.87 RCW. WSR 07-11-128, § 296-150F-3000, filed 5/22/07, effective 6/30/07. Statutory 
Authority: Chapter 43.22 RCW. WSR 07-05-063, § 296-150F-3000, filed 2/20/07, effective 
4/1/07. Statutory Authority: Chapters 18.106, 43.22, and 70.87 RCW. WSR 06-10-066, § 296- 
150F-3000, filed 5/2/06, effective 6/30/06. Statutory Authority: Chapter 43.22 RCW. WSR 05- 
23-002, § 296-150F-3000, filed 11/3/05, effective 12/4/05. Statutory Authority: Chapters 18.27, 
43.22, and 70.87 RCW. WSR 05-12-032, § 296-150F-3000, filed 5/24/05, effective 6/30/05. 
Statutory Authority: Chapter 43.22 RCW and 2003 c 291. WSR 05-01-102, § 296-150F-3000, 
filed 12/14/04, effective 2/1/05. Statutory Authority: Chapters 18.27 and 43.22 RCW. WSR 04- 
12-048, § 296-150F-3000, filed 5/28/04, effective 6/30/04. Statutory Authority: RCW 
43.22.340, 43.22.400, 43.22.432, 43.22.433, 43.22.434, 43.22.480, and 43.22.485, 2002 c 
268, and chapter 43.22 RCW. WSR 03-12-044, § 296-150F-3000, filed 5/30/03, effective 
5/30/03. Statutory Authority: RCW 43.22.350, 43.22.434, 43.22.480, 43.22.500, 18.27.070, 
18.27.075, 70.87.030, 19.28.041, 19.28.051, 19.28.101, 19.28.121, 19.28.161, 19.28.201, 
19.28.211, 19.28.341, 2001 c 159, and chapters 43.22, 19.28, 18.27, and 70.87 RCW. WSR 
01-12-035, § 296-150F-3000, filed 5/29/01, effective 6/29/01. Statutory Authority: Chapters 
43.22, 18.27, 70.87 and 19.28 RCW. WSR 99-12-080, § 296-150F-3000, filed 5/28/99, 
effective 6/28/99. Statutory Authority: Chapters 18.106, 18.27 and 43.22 RCW. WSR 98-12- 
041, § 296-150F-3000, filed 5/29/98, effective 6/30/98. Statutory Authority: RCW 70.87.030, 
18.27.070, [18.27.]075, 43.22.350, [43.22.]355, [43.22.]434 and [43.22.]480(2). WSR 97-11- 
053, § 296-150F-3000, filed 5/20/97, effective 6/30/97. Statutory Authority: RCW 43.22.340, 
[43.22.]355, [43.22.]360, [43.22.]432, [43.22.]440 and [43.22.]480. WSR 96-21-146, § 296- 
150F-3000, filed 10/23/96, effective 11/25/96.] 

MILEAGE*** 
RENTAL CAR**** 
PARKING**** 
AIRFARE**** 

INSIGNIA FEES: 
FIRST SECTION 
EACH ADDITIONAL SECTION 
REISSUED-LOST/DAMAGED 

OTHER FEES: 
FIELD TECHNICAL SERVICE (Per hour** plus travel time** and mileage***) 
NOTIFICATION TO LOCAL ENFORCEMENT AGENCY (NLEA) 
PUBLICATION PRINTING AND DISTRIBUTION OF RCWs AND WACs (One free 
copy per year upon request) 

REFUND FEE 

$284.30 
$25.50 
$69.40 

$88.90 
$38.40 
$14.20 
 
$26.00 
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